Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Fabulolous soup! After cooking bacon, set it aside and use some of the bacon fat to saute celery and onion. I used one cup half and half and one cup skim milk. The crisp bacon added on top in bowls at serving time works great, with chopped parsley or chives for garnish. I can see how the basic recipe can be tweeked. Next time, I'll try all milk, no cream and I'm sure it'll be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
It's pretty good for a rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Loved this recipe..I changed the chicken broth out for the broth from the ham dinner the night before..added a can of cream of celery soup, diced ham and a handful of sharp cheddar cheese at the end...my family loved it,even my non-soup eating 6yr old...Served it with homemade bread and it made for an exceptional Saturday lunch...Its a dish I'll certainly make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
loved it! Added bacon in at the end as others did and used 3T flour to get the consistance I wanted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I read the reviews of this recipe and the suggestion to set aside the bacon until the end is bang on. I threw in an extra cup of frozen corn, and thought it was great. Even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pepper

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
Yum! I'm a vegetarian, so I just served bacon on the side. This is a definite make again recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by awhitmer

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
First, to the reviewer who left out the celery and bacon, and complained about seasoning.... you need BOTH in this soup. (AND celery in EVERY soup) I added a bay leaf, simmered it for much longer than called for here, and it was a great basic recipe. I will probably tweak it a bit next time, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Honestly could have done without the bacon completely, maybe just using some bacon grease to saute the vegetables instead. I also added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
My family loved this. I fried the bacon first then kept it out till last. I also added an extra can of whole kernel corn. Due to milk sensitivities I used only 3/4 cup of milk but increased the broth and flour to compensate for the liquid. Great flavor, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Outstanding flavor, I added chicken and it was wonderful. Great rainy day choice. Nice and thick, very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Birdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States