Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Even the kids loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Just made this yesterday and it was very yummy! I read the reviews before making and did remove the crisp bacon and then served on top as garnish. I also substituted half & half for milk. Additionally, I added some shredded rotisserie chicken from the grocery store to make it more of a meal. Chowder came out delicious and I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2011
Fantastic! Added a little shredded cheddar for garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
Yum! Gramma Brown makes a mean chowder! The only changes I made wre to double the cream corn and use cornstarch instead of flour. This was very flavorable and tasted yummy with the cheddar bay biscuits from this site!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2011
This is wonderfully full-flavored! My husband couldn't believe how much he loved it; I made the recipe exactly as-is, and the two of us finished it off in three days (10 servings!). A wonderful winter dinner. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
January 2011 - Added bacon last and used fat free 1/2 and 1/2. It was really great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This stuff is awesome!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Used turkey bacon, fried up pretty crisp and added during the last 15 minutes of cooking. 1 1/3 cups cream and 2/3 cup skim milk adds richness and a little extra flour for thickening made it very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
Just a comment, not a review - 'cuz I haven't made it yet: I think this would be wonderful with diced green chilis instead of celery. (Nothing against celery, just don't think they'd go well together.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
Wonderful recipe. I have made this vegetarian style, omitted the bacon, added leek, used soy milk and almond milk (different occasions) and each time I am asked for the recipe. I added a dash of Mrs Dash, McCormick seasoning salt and pepper flakes when sauteeing onions, leek, celery in a little butter. Just a quick reminder that recipes can be followed to the tee or jazzed up to your taste...does not mean it was not a good start. Better than any restaurant or store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States