Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We add diced chicken. One of the very few meals the kids like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Outstanding Corn Chowder! I added some minced garlic when cooking onions and celery, added some red pepper flakes to chowder, and used evaporated milk. One of the absolute best soups I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This chowder was just amazing! I basically followed the recipe, but added a small diced red pepper and a couple cloves minced garlic to the onion/celery saute. I used condensed milk (1 can)in lieu of the milk, added a Tbsp. chopped fresh thyme and garnished with the bacon and some chopped scallions. With only 3 of us eating, we each had 2 nice bowls with dinner and I was more than pleased to still have 3 servings left for the next day's lunch. Thank you Halle Hardin ~ and you to, Gramma Brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is great soup; very thick and rich. Instead of potatoes, I had some cauliflower I just had to use and it was awesome in it! I also substituted corn starch for the flour and I left out the bacon (not a huge fan). I did use the half and half that was recommended by others, but I think next time I will use just milk with the cornstarch. I think the soup itself is very flexible as far as putting your own twists on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This soup was very good, although I did use some of the suggestions made by other members (hence, four stars). I substituted bacon grease for the margarine, used frozen corn instead of canned and made a roux instead of a flour paste. I also used a can of evaporated milk & about 1/2 cup of cream (substitute for milk). In addition, I added some shredded chicken breast meat. (Didn't notice until I got home from the store that I purchased canned sweet corn instead of creamed corn, so I made my own creamed corn using canned corn & then added it to the soup.) It was tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apples257

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made several key changes--first, I crisped the bacon in the soup pot then removed it and set aside. I used the bacon fat to sauté the celery, onion, celery seed, and some fresh garlic I had. Then I added all the veggies (canned and otherwise) and let them toast for about 10 minutes. I added the flour to the veggies until the flour was toasted and golden (sort of like a roux) and added the liquid. I used evaporated milk and cream instead of milk. Then I added the bacon when it was ready to serve. Everyone loved it and I've made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakomiKF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Most of the people I served this to LOVED it. Sadly, my main audience was my daughter who thought it was too sweet. I need a recipe without creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used butter in this recipe instead of margerine and I also used homemade chicken broth and evaporated milk instead of regular milk (the reason for using canned milk in this recipe is it doesn't seperate when cooking which regular milk will do). The thickness was spot on. After tasting it, I did add a few spices but there wasn't much adjustment needed. I made Bacon Cheddar Muffins to go with. This was a nice, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
My gang went nuts over this and when my future son-in-law calls something I make "gangster" I know it's amazing!! I made a roux instead of the paste by adding the flour to the bacon and vegie mixture. I also added some cayenne as my family likes things spiced up a bit and because I had it on hand I threw in a couple of cups of shredded cheddar. So delish and thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2012
Really good. The entire time he ate hubby kept saying how good it was.:) Changes made-fried bacon, crumbled and saved to put on top of the chowder after it was done. Also used lots of black pepper and red pepper flakes to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 189) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States