Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. My husband, who is not health-conscious, said it was "so-o-o good!". I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used half and half for the milk and I also sauteed my celery and onion in 2 T. bacon fat and omitted the butter, and saved the crunchy bacon to add in at the end. When it was done, I was surprised at the blandness of the soup after using such savory ingredients, and I thought the corn was way too sweet for the soup. I tossed in some chopped red bell pepper and added more salt, pepper and paprika, then added a little Velveeta cheese. It helped a little bit, but perhaps I should just try something like a "loaded baked potato soup" recipe, or another kind of chowder that doesn't call for any sweet ingredients. Just my personal taste I guess, because Hubby just went back for another big bowl. In retrospect, it would have been fine just to use the half and half for part of the milk, as the resulting soup was very rich and fattening. I could easily see children loving this soup for the same reason I didn't care for it. I gave it 4 stars for my husband's reaction; it would have been 2 stars for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was very good, easy to make. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We add diced chicken. One of the very few meals the kids like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Outstanding Corn Chowder! I added some minced garlic when cooking onions and celery, added some red pepper flakes to chowder, and used evaporated milk. One of the absolute best soups I've ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
This chowder was just amazing! I basically followed the recipe, but added a small diced red pepper and a couple cloves minced garlic to the onion/celery saute. I used condensed milk (1 can)in lieu of the milk, added a Tbsp. chopped fresh thyme and garnished with the bacon and some chopped scallions. With only 3 of us eating, we each had 2 nice bowls with dinner and I was more than pleased to still have 3 servings left for the next day's lunch. Thank you Halle Hardin ~ and you to, Gramma Brown!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
This is great soup; very thick and rich. Instead of potatoes, I had some cauliflower I just had to use and it was awesome in it! I also substituted corn starch for the flour and I left out the bacon (not a huge fan). I did use the half and half that was recommended by others, but I think next time I will use just milk with the cornstarch. I think the soup itself is very flexible as far as putting your own twists on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This soup was very good, although I did use some of the suggestions made by other members (hence, four stars). I substituted bacon grease for the margarine, used frozen corn instead of canned and made a roux instead of a flour paste. I also used a can of evaporated milk & about 1/2 cup of cream (substitute for milk). In addition, I added some shredded chicken breast meat. (Didn't notice until I got home from the store that I purchased canned sweet corn instead of creamed corn, so I made my own creamed corn using canned corn & then added it to the soup.) It was tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apples257

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I made several key changes--first, I crisped the bacon in the soup pot then removed it and set aside. I used the bacon fat to sauté the celery, onion, celery seed, and some fresh garlic I had. Then I added all the veggies (canned and otherwise) and let them toast for about 10 minutes. I added the flour to the veggies until the flour was toasted and golden (sort of like a roux) and added the liquid. I used evaporated milk and cream instead of milk. Then I added the bacon when it was ready to serve. Everyone loved it and I've made it several times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nakomiKF

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Most of the people I served this to LOVED it. Sadly, my main audience was my daughter who thought it was too sweet. I need a recipe without creamed corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I used butter in this recipe instead of margerine and I also used homemade chicken broth and evaporated milk instead of regular milk (the reason for using canned milk in this recipe is it doesn't seperate when cooking which regular milk will do). The thickness was spot on. After tasting it, I did add a few spices but there wasn't much adjustment needed. I made Bacon Cheddar Muffins to go with. This was a nice, filling dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States