Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
This recipe was very tasty! I will make it again but next time I will cut the bacon into smaller pieces and will probably cut the recipe in half. It took me longer than I thought to prepare the ingredients and I used a food processor for everything but the potatoes which worked nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2000
It tasted great, and was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2001
Great taste and good presentation to serve to company. I added lots of pepper to give it some zip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2002
Wonderful!!!!!!! wonderful is the key word to this recipe... thank you.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
First time I ever made any kind of chowder and it came out absolutely wonderful, thanks so much!!! Will make this again & again & again..... So easy, quick, and delicious!!! Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2002
This was a good recipe. I used velveeta cheese to thicken the soup and give it a little cheesy taste instead of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2002
I have never had corn chowder before but this was awesome!!! We loved this!!! I followed the recipe to the letter but added 4oz velveeta cheese about 10 min before completion. I didn't want the cheese to take away from the rest of the soup but THIS WAS GREAT!! Will make this again!! Very hearty stuff! Thanks Gramma Brown and Halle too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2002
I have never had corn chowder before and after looking at a lot of recipes, I chose yours. It is delicious. I have emailed it to a couple of friends because it is so good. I made it exactly as you said and will certainly keep this in my family cookbook. Thank you Halle for submitting this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2003
What a wonderful soup. I added the 4 ounces of Velveeta others recommended (even though it tasted darned good without it). To compensate a little for that added fat, I cooked the onions and celery in a bit of reserved bacon grease and later added cooked turkey bacon instead of regular bacon. This hearty soup is just as good or better the next day (it does thicken up overnight, which was fine with us).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2003
Very Yummy. It was very quick & easy. Will definately make again on a cold winters day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States