Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My apologies to everyone who doesn't read the reviews... my rating is definitely based on cooking the bacon first and setting it aside until the rest of the soup is ready. I too fried the bacon in my pot and left the fat instead of adding butter. VERY TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
great chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made just as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great meal for a lazy sunday afternoon! I left out the celery because, well, I always leave out the celery- also left out the bacon. While this recipe was good, it did need something. That may be because I left out the bacon, but I felt like it needed some seasoning besides just salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Pretty good after I made some adjustments according to other reviews. I removed the bacon to add as garnish later, subbed half and half for milk and added a few drops of tobasco for extra kick. I also hit it with my immersion blender to get that super smooth texture and added some leftover roasted corn at the very end. It's tasty, but doesn't have as much corn flavor as I would like. Next time, I'll cut down the potatoes and increase the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My family loves this chowder. We eat it often in the colder months. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
Good basic recipe. Just used 5 strips bacon and used fat free half and half for the milk. Mashed up some of the potatoes and because of gluten issues used corn starch to thicken. Also, used chicken stock, more robust flavor than just using broth. Added a few red pepper flakes to give it some kick and lots of fresh ground pepper. Family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This is a great recipe...for all of you "health conscious" chefs, you can heat up your 2 cups of milk and whisk the 3 heaping Tbsps of flour into it before pouring it into your soup and the milk wont separate then and it's SUPER creamy still (I also used about 2 1/2 cups of broth instead of 4). Also I use ham instead of bacon...again quite a bit healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
This tastes great and makes a great soup for a cold wintery day. I used three fresh corn on the cob instead of the canned corn. I boiled the corn and then cut if from the cob. I also boiled the potatoes on there own and then mashed them and added them to the broth mixture. Because I mashed the potatoes I did not have to make a paste. The soup was creamy and wonderful tasting. I also used my epicure spices, (bacon, chives and cheese) and chicken bouillon base for extra flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janae

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chateaugay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2010
This recipe is absolutely awesome! I added leftover chicken pieces cubed and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States