Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
First, to the reviewer who left out the celery and bacon, and complained about seasoning.... you need BOTH in this soup. (AND celery in EVERY soup) I added a bay leaf, simmered it for much longer than called for here, and it was a great basic recipe. I will probably tweak it a bit next time, but very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Honestly could have done without the bacon completely, maybe just using some bacon grease to saute the vegetables instead. I also added some red pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
My family loved this. I fried the bacon first then kept it out till last. I also added an extra can of whole kernel corn. Due to milk sensitivities I used only 3/4 cup of milk but increased the broth and flour to compensate for the liquid. Great flavor, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Outstanding flavor, I added chicken and it was wonderful. Great rainy day choice. Nice and thick, very filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nonna Birdi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tracy, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
My apologies to everyone who doesn't read the reviews... my rating is definitely based on cooking the bacon first and setting it aside until the rest of the soup is ready. I too fried the bacon in my pot and left the fat instead of adding butter. VERY TASTY.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
great chowder
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made just as written and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by butterflymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Great meal for a lazy sunday afternoon! I left out the celery because, well, I always leave out the celery- also left out the bacon. While this recipe was good, it did need something. That may be because I left out the bacon, but I felt like it needed some seasoning besides just salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Exeter, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
Pretty good after I made some adjustments according to other reviews. I removed the bacon to add as garnish later, subbed half and half for milk and added a few drops of tobasco for extra kick. I also hit it with my immersion blender to get that super smooth texture and added some leftover roasted corn at the very end. It's tasty, but doesn't have as much corn flavor as I would like. Next time, I'll cut down the potatoes and increase the corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2010
My family loves this chowder. We eat it often in the colder months. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States