Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was very tasty. Like most people I read the reviews before trying it out and took heed to ingredient changes to enhance the soup. First off I used a can of cream style white corn hoping to get the sweet flavor a little. Also a bag of frozen yellow corn. Added two and a half cups broth. Red, yellow, Orange and green peppers along with broccoli and cauliflower went in. For a dark color change I added black beans. Chopped up 5 honey gold potatoes and one full Turkey sausage. Mixed the flower with almost two cups of half and half. Added salt and pepper. Sprinkled shredded cheese and bacon and was good to go. Great recipe. Next time I do believe I'm going to add a spoonful or two of sugar to get a sweeter taste. John also I added Japanese chilli seeds and tomatoes with green chili's. Gave it a spicy kick that warms you up nicely. Will def make this again and soon!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I omitted the bacon and added garlic and bell pepper with the onion and celery - sauteed in butter instead of bacon grease until onions were clear. I also substituted evaporated milk and two cans of regular corn (not creamed). After it was all cooked, I used my immersion blender to cream it all together. It was delicious and looked beautiful. My picky husband really liked it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was a very good chowder and relatively easy to make. I agree with another reviewer in which she said to cut up the bacon so there aren't full strips in the chowder. I put half the bacon in the chowder and used the other half as a topping. I also topped it with green onions. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This recipe is very good. I did make a few changes. I put in 2 cans of cream corn. I had some cooked cobs of corn, so I used the corn off the cobs instead of the cans of kernel corn. I used some salt pork broth instead of the chicken broth just because I had it & I used 2 cans of low-fat canned milk. There was no need to use the butter & flour as the soup was just the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this vegetarian style, which may be why it started out a bit bland. I added a bunch of garlic and onion powder and extra butter. Turned out pretty yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
this was very good. I made mine a little heartier by adding potatoes and whole kernel corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
Why didn't I cook the bacon and reserve it for a garnish, like I always do? As I was going along, I did use the bacon grease and added the flour for a roux. Then added broth and corns. I pureed half the mixture for extra creaminess and less chunks. Added the milk at the end...its good, just wish I reserved the bacon like reviewers said.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CtUsaMom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I made this for dinner tonight. My husband, who is not health-conscious, said it was "so-o-o good!". I followed the suggestions of other reviewers and used half and half for the milk and I also sauteed my celery and onion in 2 T. bacon fat and omitted the butter, and saved the crunchy bacon to add in at the end. When it was done, I was surprised at the blandness of the soup after using such savory ingredients, and I thought the corn was way too sweet for the soup. I tossed in some chopped red bell pepper and added more salt, pepper and paprika, then added a little Velveeta cheese. It helped a little bit, but perhaps I should just try something like a "loaded baked potato soup" recipe, or another kind of chowder that doesn't call for any sweet ingredients. Just my personal taste I guess, because Hubby just went back for another big bowl. In retrospect, it would have been fine just to use the half and half for part of the milk, as the resulting soup was very rich and fattening. I could easily see children loving this soup for the same reason I didn't care for it. I gave it 4 stars for my husband's reaction; it would have been 2 stars for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FloridaSmiles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
This was very good, easy to make. We all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
We add diced chicken. One of the very few meals the kids like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 188) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States