Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This is real comfort food, my lads all loved it. Yes, I made it with half the broth, but found that I needed to add a bit more later on in the cooking. Apart from that the only change I made was to add parsley and Thyme, just because we like them. Thank you for sharing this tasty recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Battle, Sussex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Awesome! Don't want extra fat? You can use skim milk and then a potato - not half and half - to thicken. Boil one extra potato, puree, add in broth until it creates a slurry. Add to soup as thickener. Reserve the bacon for a topping - consider adding chopped green onion for a topping, too. Kids like to add shredded cheddar cheese as third garnish. I still use flour and otherwise follow the recipe. Very wonderful and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Wow, this was an amazing corn chowder! I did make a couple changes: I cooked the bacon in the soup pot until it was crispy, then removed the bacon and sauteed the onion and celery in the bacon fat. I crumbled the bacon and added it back at the end to keep it crunchy. I found I didn't need to dirty two pans for cooking the bacon and then simmering the soup. I omitted the butter and definitely didn't miss it! Also I drained the can of whole corn and I peeled the potatoes (it wasn't clear in the recipe if I should). All in all, the best corn chowder I have ever eaten!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lino Lakes, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Hopkins, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I have another corn chowder recipe; this one is as good as the old one. I used half and half instead of milk. 11/2007
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Its always disappointing when a recipe gets high marks but the reviewers suggestions are what REALLY make the difference. This could have easily been a 5 star recipe had I read through half of the reviews. The two key issues I had with this recipe: Calling for milk. It should just be changed to half and half or cream - because the milk seperates - which is not at all appetizing. Having the bacon in from the beginning. The result is almost like an uncooked texture by the end. It should be cooked, kept aside and almost added as a granish upon serving. Leaving the bacon fat in at the beginning stage will impart the flavor and not sacrifice the bacon's texture instead. Granted - I should have instinctively not done both of these things - and will amend if I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
199 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kellygrrrl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Willingboro, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
I have made a version of this recipe for years using sausage instead of bacon and using cream instead of the rue. My whole family loves it. Also have made a quickie version using frozen O'Brian potatoes with peppers and onions, works great and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
I used this recipe as a base for my own Bacon, Potato, and Corn Chowder! I love that it includes celery and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2007
We are very fond of clam chowder, so I drained 3-4 small cans of minced clams and added... wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
This is by far the best potato/corn chowder I have ever tasted. I've made it before for company and there is always compliments. I always serve it with a basket of baking powder buicuts for the perfect rainy day meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2007
Good, better with 1/2 teaspoon dried basil, 2 cloves crushed garlic and instant potatoes to thicken instead of the flour rue. Add some of the bacon grease for flavor, or browned sausage with or instead of the bacon. Adjust salt accordingly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leslie, Michigan, USA
Living In: Eaton Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 186) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States