Gramma Brown's Corn Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
My family loved this, I followed other suggestions and used evaporated milk and left out the butter. I also added my own twists and used fresh sweet corn (4 ears) and added 2 small salmon fillets (no skin, cut into chunks), and it added a great layer of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLYSMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Comes out great every time. It is a crowd favorite for sure. We serve with a sprinkle of cheese and green onion and a dollop of daisy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Antioch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
I love this recipe..added a dash of tabasco....used half and half...used fresh corn off the cob for the kernals...and used my crockpot. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FBH
Home Town: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chef Calvin Wright
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
Thought it was clear, and to the point. I just changed the procedure of cooking. Plus, I added a couple if ingredients to tweak it just a bit. Only thing I would change is how you word the cuts on the ingredients. All the cuts should be uniform, and all should be to the bite. Meaning, you should be able to fit all ingredients on to the spoon. Delicious, and I would use this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
This was very tasty. Like most people I read the reviews before trying it out and took heed to ingredient changes to enhance the soup. First off I used a can of cream style white corn hoping to get the sweet flavor a little. Also a bag of frozen yellow corn. Added two and a half cups broth. Red, yellow, Orange and green peppers along with broccoli and cauliflower went in. For a dark color change I added black beans. Chopped up 5 honey gold potatoes and one full Turkey sausage. Mixed the flower with almost two cups of half and half. Added salt and pepper. Sprinkled shredded cheese and bacon and was good to go. Great recipe. Next time I do believe I'm going to add a spoonful or two of sugar to get a sweeter taste. John also I added Japanese chilli seeds and tomatoes with green chili's. Gave it a spicy kick that warms you up nicely. Will def make this again and soon!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2013
I omitted the bacon and added garlic and bell pepper with the onion and celery - sauteed in butter instead of bacon grease until onions were clear. I also substituted evaporated milk and two cans of regular corn (not creamed). After it was all cooked, I used my immersion blender to cream it all together. It was delicious and looked beautiful. My picky husband really liked it. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This was a very good chowder and relatively easy to make. I agree with another reviewer in which she said to cut up the bacon so there aren't full strips in the chowder. I put half the bacon in the chowder and used the other half as a topping. I also topped it with green onions. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Caledonia, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
This recipe is very good. I did make a few changes. I put in 2 cans of cream corn. I had some cooked cobs of corn, so I used the corn off the cobs instead of the cans of kernel corn. I used some salt pork broth instead of the chicken broth just because I had it & I used 2 cans of low-fat canned milk. There was no need to use the butter & flour as the soup was just the right thickness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
I made this vegetarian style, which may be why it started out a bit bland. I added a bunch of garlic and onion powder and extra butter. Turned out pretty yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pampered Chef Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pleasant Hill, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
this was very good. I made mine a little heartier by adding potatoes and whole kernel corn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fairfield, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 182) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma's Corn Chowder

A rich, creamy chowder with bacon and potato—just like granny used to make.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Grilled Salmon with Bacon and Corn Relish

A warm bacon and fresh corn relish make this salmon spectacular.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States