Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
My kids like the bits of banana. With a cream cheese icing & sparkles it became a fancy birthday cake. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was almost as good as my grandmother's recipe! The cake was moist and flavorful. I used overipe bananas which is a must. We had this cake with no frosting and it was excellent with a nice cup of Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I made this cake for a dinner party. I liked it because the ingredients were very few and simple. It came out wonderfully moist and beautiful in a bundt pan. It didn't need any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I really like this recipe and urge you guys to try it, but I cut down the sugar by a little since I don't like my cakes to be too sweet. Stick to the recipe closely and it will turn out fine. I tried to make it a second time and used 4 bananas instead of 3 and a little too much sour cream. It turned out really soft and wet, and it was just a pity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
made this cake souly on the remarks. it's was the best cake. very easy to make and not too many ingrediants. i added a tspn vanilla and 1/2 c. finely chopped walnuts and was extra good. used powdered sugar instead of cream cheese frosting, very moist so it didn't really need frosting. any other recipes from gramma bertha? i would make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
the best banana ckae I have ever tasted, give my regards to gramma Bertha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Grandmas are the best!! I followed the recipe and this was one of the best ever banana cakes I have ever eaten.Thanks to you sharing one of your family recipes.I did not frost it, however hubby wants me to frost next time. A definite keeper******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This cake was delicious.. Not too sweet and yet moist and tasty. I followed directions exactly. It did not rise far up my 10 inch bundt pan so next time I'll use one of my smaller, different design bundt pans. I frosted this using a half recipe of "Cream Cheese Frosting II" (Allrecipes) and added a half cup of chopped pecans to the frosting - a real treat!! Thanks for posting Lisa - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2004
I find this cake moist and it never fails to be eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Absolutely delicious moist recipe! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States