Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I really like this recipe and urge you guys to try it, but I cut down the sugar by a little since I don't like my cakes to be too sweet. Stick to the recipe closely and it will turn out fine. I tried to make it a second time and used 4 bananas instead of 3 and a little too much sour cream. It turned out really soft and wet, and it was just a pity!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2001
I made this cake for a dinner party. I liked it because the ingredients were very few and simple. It came out wonderfully moist and beautiful in a bundt pan. It didn't need any frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
My kids like the bits of banana. With a cream cheese icing & sparkles it became a fancy birthday cake. Very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2002
the best banana ckae I have ever tasted, give my regards to gramma Bertha
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
made this cake souly on the remarks. it's was the best cake. very easy to make and not too many ingrediants. i added a tspn vanilla and 1/2 c. finely chopped walnuts and was extra good. used powdered sugar instead of cream cheese frosting, very moist so it didn't really need frosting. any other recipes from gramma bertha? i would make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2003
This cake was delicious.. Not too sweet and yet moist and tasty. I followed directions exactly. It did not rise far up my 10 inch bundt pan so next time I'll use one of my smaller, different design bundt pans. I frosted this using a half recipe of "Cream Cheese Frosting II" (Allrecipes) and added a half cup of chopped pecans to the frosting - a real treat!! Thanks for posting Lisa - this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
Grandmas are the best!! I followed the recipe and this was one of the best ever banana cakes I have ever eaten.Thanks to you sharing one of your family recipes.I did not frost it, however hubby wants me to frost next time. A definite keeper******
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2003
Absolutely delicious moist recipe! One of my favorites!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2003
Cake was moist and just average taste to me. Not much different though from any standard banana bread recipe. I topped with cream cheese frosting which really helped it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2004
This was almost as good as my grandmother's recipe! The cake was moist and flavorful. I used overipe bananas which is a must. We had this cake with no frosting and it was excellent with a nice cup of Joe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States