Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Used this recipe to make cupcakes,baked them for 40 minutes,also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla.Decorated with a cream chesse frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Didn't have any sour cream, so I added 1/4 cup of heavy cream instead. Thus, it's my fault that this came out more like a dense banana bread than a cake. Will try again when I get some sour cream. Made the whole house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I really liked the cake - it was very moist and flavorful and I like just slicing the bananas in - I spent a day making three different types of cake to freeze and this was the first that we ran out of. When making any banana cake, I always take about a third of the batter and add cocoa then swirl that into the batter in the pan like a marble cake - something I did years ago and now its the only kind of banana cake my family wants. Anyways, it worked great with this recipe. It's a keeper for me. thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I love this recipe! It is easy and everyone eats it up. I like to use 4 bananas and an extra splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Very yummy! I added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I LOVED THIS CAKE! IT IS DELICIOUS, I MADE A CREAM CHEESE GLAZE AND CANDID THE WALNUTS THAT I PLACED ON TOP .YUMMY!! THE PICTURE IS MINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was a really easy, "no fail" recipe. I barely had any butter left so I used what I had, and replaced the rest with oil and a little bit of milk. I didn't have sour cream, so I replaced that with yogurt. I added a tsp of vanilla and a teaspoon of nutmeg. I think the bananas I used were rather small, as this recipe could use a tiny bit more banana flavour. However, I am sure it is due to the small bananas I had on hand. I mashed the bananas instead as well. I cooked mine in a bundt pan for 60 minutes. This recipe is delicious! Absolutely perfect with a cup of coffee in the morning! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Nice change to add sliced banana instead of mashed - more intense banana flavor - thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Great way to use up the aged bananas! This cake tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Definitely five stars! I served at a bar-b-que (with cream cheese frosting) and everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe and also made muffins. I also added walnuts and baked at 325 degrees until done (that way it's a nice golden brown on outside and done in the middle without burning). Thank you for sharing your Gramma's recipe! Does she have any other special recipes to share??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States