Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This wonderfully scented hearty moist cake bread was gone before it was cool, I have used 3 or 4 bananas. I added a tablespoon of vanilla, a dash of cinnamon and a bit of ginger, I used 1 cup brown sugar so it isn't as sweet. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I substituted a half cup of virgin coconut oil for the butter. I use 1 cup unbleached all purpose flour and 1 cup organic coconut flour. I have made this many times tweaking it as I go, I love nuts so I use either walnuts or pecans, either are wonderful. Can add 2 tbsp ground flax as part of the flour. I bake it 45-50 minutes and check with a toothpick, It was perfect spread with soft butter as the "frosting" My family loves this recipe as muffins or 9 x 13 cake pan size. A holiday favorite for gift giving is mini loafs, I wrap up gift baskets with banana nut loaf, cranberry orange loaf, brownies and cookies to give as gifts along with a box of Celestial Seasonings teas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindys Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
So - I made a measuring mistake and added 6 eggs (used egg beaters) instead of 4 but it still came out great! I frosted it with a whipped cream topping and sprinkled some walnuts on top. It was beautiful and delicious. Not too much like banana bread - had a nice cake texture. I'm going to try it again with splenda next time to see if I can make it even more low cal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I remember my mother had a friend named Bertha, and she used to make Banana Cake for us. My mom got her recipe, however, when my mom passed, the recipe went to my sisters, whom never would give it up to me. So, I thank you very much Gramma Berhta's granddaughter for putting it on here. You've answered my prayers. I will treasure it always. Love this comfort food. it brings back many good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
As I was saying to a friend, any recipe made by someone named Bertha HAS to be made by me. It's GOT to be good. I did throw in a tsp. of baking powder and a half tsp. of salt. I didn't have quite enough chopped bananas, so I took what was left of a pound of organic strawberries, chopped them up and threw them in, too. This took about an hour to bake, give or take, and it came out moist and fluffy. I didn't have any with the family, but judging by their faces and lack of conversation at the table, they enjoyed this. I DID NOT make a glaze for this. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I live in Colorado and this comes out perfect here. I made it in Illinois for my parents and it came out similar to playdoh. ??? Where does this recipe originate geographically and has anyone else had a similar experience? Otherwise, this is drop-dead great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJTOOTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Catherine
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
This is an unbelievably good cake. I added vanilla and semi sweet chocolate chips (next time I think I'll add milk chocolate or peanut butter chips and an extra banana). I baked mine in a 9x13 pan and added a cream cheese frosting on top. I already had everything in my pantry except for sour cream. It was so much more moist the next day and all I can say is that it tasted amazing (everyone I gave it to at work agreed) and I loved how simple it was. Give this a try, you can spice up the recipe however you like, but be sure not to over-bake it or it will be too dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catherine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
Great recipe..it's quick, easy and I added a butter cream glaze to make it a little sweeter. I am making it for the third time. Everyone loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
While the flavor of this is good, it too closely resembles a bread. My husband asked why I frosted the banana "bread". Will just stick to my old banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was just what I was looking for! I did make some simple modifications based on suggestions from other readers and added some cinnamon and vanilla. Since I wanted a strong banana flavor, I added 2 extra bananas that I cut into thicker slices and folded in. Frosted with banana cream cheese frosting and it was a great birthday cake for a banana-bread loving husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My husband actually said this cake was 'too moist'. I added nuts and I thought this was a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States