Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was so go I had to send it to work with my husband as not to gain 5 pounds, I did healthy it up a bit. Cut sugar by 1/4 cup, used 1/2 cup unsweetened yogurt and 1/2 cup light sour cream instead of the 1 cup sour cream and substituted 1/4 cup of the flour as whole wheat flour. It didnt have to back the full hour with these changes about 54 minutes. topped it with a light cream cheese glaze. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
very very good cake...very moist and full of flavour. I put in less sugar because my dad is diabetic, and added vanilla essence. Also because my oven cannot be set to 175 degrees C, i set oven temperature at 180 and baked for about 50 mins. it came out wonderful! just make sure to watch the timing, because you may not need the full amount of time stated in this recipe to get that lovely golden brown colour on the cake. Advice when serving to cut away the crust around the sides because it tends to get real dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very good cake...Moist and certainly Heavy in density. I gave it a 4 star rating, only because I added afew suggested changes. Walnuts, afew Choc. Chips and vanilla. I think the best added suggestion was to add cocoa to 1/3 of the batter, and marble it into the banana batter. It gave the cake a very interesting flavor, and not at all too sweet. I would not consider this to be a "bread" at all,,,more of a pound cake. Well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was an easy recipe, and overall really good. However, it was more bread-like. I wanted to try this as-is the first time, but now will try again with some suggesed add-ins from other reviews. It's worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This cake is the best by far...followed the recipe closely and it couldn't have come out more perfect. Very moist...not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2009
This wonderfully scented hearty moist cake bread was gone before it was cool, I have used 3 or 4 bananas. I added a tablespoon of vanilla, a dash of cinnamon and a bit of ginger, I used 1 cup brown sugar so it isn't as sweet. I used plain yogurt instead of sour cream. I substituted a half cup of virgin coconut oil for the butter. I use 1 cup unbleached all purpose flour and 1 cup organic coconut flour. I have made this many times tweaking it as I go, I love nuts so I use either walnuts or pecans, either are wonderful. Can add 2 tbsp ground flax as part of the flour. I bake it 45-50 minutes and check with a toothpick, It was perfect spread with soft butter as the "frosting" My family loves this recipe as muffins or 9 x 13 cake pan size. A holiday favorite for gift giving is mini loafs, I wrap up gift baskets with banana nut loaf, cranberry orange loaf, brownies and cookies to give as gifts along with a box of Celestial Seasonings teas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindys Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
So - I made a measuring mistake and added 6 eggs (used egg beaters) instead of 4 but it still came out great! I frosted it with a whipped cream topping and sprinkled some walnuts on top. It was beautiful and delicious. Not too much like banana bread - had a nice cake texture. I'm going to try it again with splenda next time to see if I can make it even more low cal. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORI2573

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2009
I remember my mother had a friend named Bertha, and she used to make Banana Cake for us. My mom got her recipe, however, when my mom passed, the recipe went to my sisters, whom never would give it up to me. So, I thank you very much Gramma Berhta's granddaughter for putting it on here. You've answered my prayers. I will treasure it always. Love this comfort food. it brings back many good memories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: May 31, 2009
As I was saying to a friend, any recipe made by someone named Bertha HAS to be made by me. It's GOT to be good. I did throw in a tsp. of baking powder and a half tsp. of salt. I didn't have quite enough chopped bananas, so I took what was left of a pound of organic strawberries, chopped them up and threw them in, too. This took about an hour to bake, give or take, and it came out moist and fluffy. I didn't have any with the family, but judging by their faces and lack of conversation at the table, they enjoyed this. I DID NOT make a glaze for this. This one's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2009
I live in Colorado and this comes out perfect here. I made it in Illinois for my parents and it came out similar to playdoh. ??? Where does this recipe originate geographically and has anyone else had a similar experience? Otherwise, this is drop-dead great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LJTOOTS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States