Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
What I love about this recipe is that it has banana flavor with little bits of banana throughout and no cinnamon or nuts. This is a nice change from all the banana recipes with cinnamon. I added 1 tsp. vanilla. Because I bake at high altitude, I usually have to cut back on fat and sugar to make a recipe work for me...so I only used 6 T. butter and 1 c. plus 1 T. sugar. This cake was pretty sweet with the cutbacks. Also, I thought it had more of a quick bread texture, and next time I might just bake it in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Excellent cake! This was a big hit with cream cheese icing on top. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great recipe changed it only by putting a little vanilla. Next time will add more banana's you don't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Excellent recipe! I made it with just 3 eggs and cut the sugar down by about 1/4 cup. Very moist and easy to make. I baked it in 9x13 pan for 38 minutes and topped with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was perfect and fit what I was looking for. I made it mostly the same as the recipe except for 1 tsp of vanilla and I used cake flour instead of all-purpose. Honestly I think next time I am making them into muffins. Its about the perfect muffin consistency. Add a strudel topping and these would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeside, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I have made this cake several times and my family does love it. The first time I made it I had to substitute some pancake mix for regular flour. I have found than as little as half a cup of pancake mix produces a larger fluffier cake. I have also been using chocolate chips with the recipe which my family loves. This cake is usually polished off fast at my house. I have taught my daughter-in-law to make it because my son loves it so much. I give it four stars becuase I personally find it a bit flat without the pancake mix. However it is an easy recipe that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Smalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent. So easy, moist, delicious as written. Is usually finished cooking after 45 - 50 minutes in my electric oven. I've made this several times, sometimes with substitutions, and have enjoyed consistently tasty results. Would recommend to anyone. Some of the substitutions I've tried are non-dairy (margarine and imitation sour cream) and low sugar (part sugar and part Brown Sugar Splenda).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe turned out wonderful! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for but did add 1 1/2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Then I poured it into a silicone Bundt pan and baked it in the microwave for about 12 minutes. I let it cool a bit then turned it out onto my dish. I dusted it with Icing sugar immediately which cause a very light glaze. It was delicious and very easy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very moist. Used 4 bananas and didn't frost cake. We liked it quite a bit. Liked that it used the sliced bananas instead of typical mushed ones in recipe. I do think next time I might add frosting, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Literally my first solo attempt at baking. It turned out marvelously and it's now the number 1 seller at my school's weekly bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citygirlturnedchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States