Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Excellent recipe! I made it with just 3 eggs and cut the sugar down by about 1/4 cup. Very moist and easy to make. I baked it in 9x13 pan for 38 minutes and topped with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was perfect and fit what I was looking for. I made it mostly the same as the recipe except for 1 tsp of vanilla and I used cake flour instead of all-purpose. Honestly I think next time I am making them into muffins. Its about the perfect muffin consistency. Add a strudel topping and these would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeside, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I have made this cake several times and my family does love it. The first time I made it I had to substitute some pancake mix for regular flour. I have found than as little as half a cup of pancake mix produces a larger fluffier cake. I have also been using chocolate chips with the recipe which my family loves. This cake is usually polished off fast at my house. I have taught my daughter-in-law to make it because my son loves it so much. I give it four stars becuase I personally find it a bit flat without the pancake mix. However it is an easy recipe that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Smalls

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent. So easy, moist, delicious as written. Is usually finished cooking after 45 - 50 minutes in my electric oven. I've made this several times, sometimes with substitutions, and have enjoyed consistently tasty results. Would recommend to anyone. Some of the substitutions I've tried are non-dairy (margarine and imitation sour cream) and low sugar (part sugar and part Brown Sugar Splenda).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe turned out wonderful! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for but did add 1 1/2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Then I poured it into a silicone Bundt pan and baked it in the microwave for about 12 minutes. I let it cool a bit then turned it out onto my dish. I dusted it with Icing sugar immediately which cause a very light glaze. It was delicious and very easy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very moist. Used 4 bananas and didn't frost cake. We liked it quite a bit. Liked that it used the sliced bananas instead of typical mushed ones in recipe. I do think next time I might add frosting, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Literally my first solo attempt at baking. It turned out marvelously and it's now the number 1 seller at my school's weekly bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citygirlturnedchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I believe that this reciepe is superior because you DON'T MASH THE BANANAS....just slice and throw in the mixer. I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet!! It is a FABULOUS cake and I have made it over and over again, and given the recipe away many times. I always ice it with CREAM CHEESE FROSTING II (by Janni....not JJ....there are two recipes with the same title) from this site. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Excellent Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious! Almost like a pound cake. I added a tsp. of vanilla and used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, so it cut down on the sweetness a bit which is fine. I used real sour cream because I wanted to make sure this turned out really good! It was sinful, I drizzled the cooled cake with a homemade cream cheese glaze (4 oz. cream cheese, 2 tbsp. butter, 2 cups powdered sugar, half & half as needed to thin it out). I will be making this again for SURE! Absolutely tasty and comfort food-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States