Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I believe that this reciepe is superior because you DON'T MASH THE BANANAS....just slice and throw in the mixer. I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet!! It is a FABULOUS cake and I have made it over and over again, and given the recipe away many times. I always ice it with CREAM CHEESE FROSTING II (by Janni....not JJ....there are two recipes with the same title) from this site. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Excellent Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious! Almost like a pound cake. I added a tsp. of vanilla and used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, so it cut down on the sweetness a bit which is fine. I used real sour cream because I wanted to make sure this turned out really good! It was sinful, I drizzled the cooled cake with a homemade cream cheese glaze (4 oz. cream cheese, 2 tbsp. butter, 2 cups powdered sugar, half & half as needed to thin it out). I will be making this again for SURE! Absolutely tasty and comfort food-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was worth 5 stars to me. Very sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
My bf really liked this. I made it in two 9-inch rounds. The centers didn't cook as well as i'd prefer, which is probaby why the recipe recommends a bundt pan. I screwed up at first...I forgot to put flour in the batter!! I cooked it for ten min before I realized it, scooped the batter back in a bowl, added flour and recooked it. That also could have contributed to the soggy center. =) Fortunately, even with the huge mistake, my bf loved it. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
This was so go I had to send it to work with my husband as not to gain 5 pounds, I did healthy it up a bit. Cut sugar by 1/4 cup, used 1/2 cup unsweetened yogurt and 1/2 cup light sour cream instead of the 1 cup sour cream and substituted 1/4 cup of the flour as whole wheat flour. It didnt have to back the full hour with these changes about 54 minutes. topped it with a light cream cheese glaze. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
very very good cake...very moist and full of flavour. I put in less sugar because my dad is diabetic, and added vanilla essence. Also because my oven cannot be set to 175 degrees C, i set oven temperature at 180 and baked for about 50 mins. it came out wonderful! just make sure to watch the timing, because you may not need the full amount of time stated in this recipe to get that lovely golden brown colour on the cake. Advice when serving to cut away the crust around the sides because it tends to get real dry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2009
Very good cake...Moist and certainly Heavy in density. I gave it a 4 star rating, only because I added afew suggested changes. Walnuts, afew Choc. Chips and vanilla. I think the best added suggestion was to add cocoa to 1/3 of the batter, and marble it into the banana batter. It gave the cake a very interesting flavor, and not at all too sweet. I would not consider this to be a "bread" at all,,,more of a pound cake. Well worth trying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate56

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Canaan Valley, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
This was an easy recipe, and overall really good. However, it was more bread-like. I wanted to try this as-is the first time, but now will try again with some suggesed add-ins from other reviews. It's worth trying!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
This cake is the best by far...followed the recipe closely and it couldn't have come out more perfect. Very moist...not too sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States