Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
my new favorite recipe. i've made this several times and its a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by joann b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Berkley, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Plymouth, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
Wow. This cake is flavourful and moist. I added four bananas, 1 t. brandy extract, 1 t. cinnamon and 1 t. ground flax. (the flax is for added nutritional value not flavour) This cake could be made with grated carrots, raisins, just about anything in addition to the banana. I am making it again tonight for dinner guests and plan to serve it with brandy whip cream. What a great way to use up those expired bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
Definetly a "keeper". This was easy to make and despite being very moist it lasted a week with no spoilage. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Incredibly moist and easy to make. Both my picky eater kiddos loved it! The only change I did was to mash the bananas. No icing needed, just a dusting of confectioners sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
I, my husband and the people at my workplace absolutely loved this recipe. They could not believe how moist it was and wanted me to make more!! The ONLY change I made to this recipe was that, instead of using all white sugar, I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown sugar. I WILL BE MAKING THIS AGAIN !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
What I love about this recipe is that it has banana flavor with little bits of banana throughout and no cinnamon or nuts. This is a nice change from all the banana recipes with cinnamon. I added 1 tsp. vanilla. Because I bake at high altitude, I usually have to cut back on fat and sugar to make a recipe work for me...so I only used 6 T. butter and 1 c. plus 1 T. sugar. This cake was pretty sweet with the cutbacks. Also, I thought it had more of a quick bread texture, and next time I might just bake it in loaf pans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Excellent cake! This was a big hit with cream cheese icing on top. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
Great recipe changed it only by putting a little vanilla. Next time will add more banana's you don't really taste it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Excellent recipe! I made it with just 3 eggs and cut the sugar down by about 1/4 cup. Very moist and easy to make. I baked it in 9x13 pan for 38 minutes and topped with cream cheese frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2010
This was perfect and fit what I was looking for. I made it mostly the same as the recipe except for 1 tsp of vanilla and I used cake flour instead of all-purpose. Honestly I think next time I am making them into muffins. Its about the perfect muffin consistency. Add a strudel topping and these would be great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lakeside, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States