Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Easy to make delicious cake. I added cinnamon and mini semi-sweet chocolate morsels. Will make this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEANNETTE78
Home Town: South Paris, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
Cut the sugar to one cup and made cupcakes. Trying to find recipes that make the fancy cupcakes. This one was perfect. Baked for 35 minutes. Frosted with cream cheese frosting. Really special and turned out to be a "fancy cupcake."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This is certainly a five star recipe. I didn't change it but it appeared to be too much for my bundt pan. Used a loaf pan instead. Was trying to wait for it to cool but couldn't. It's not too sweet and real moist. Don't take my word, please try it for yourself!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
This was delicious ! I added a teaspoon of vanilla as suggested by others. Co-workers loved it. I used a buttercream frosting and thought it was a great compliment to the banana taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PJJAMAS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2011
I love this recipe because is so so simple and tasty. Ingredients that you can find in your fridge or pantry on any given day. You can leave it stand alone or add vanilla, cinnamon or a glaze if you choose. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
With some changes this recipe is very good. I use light sour cream to cut calories and also used only 1 cup plus a fourth for the sugar. Next time I will cut it to one cup. I used a teaspoon of vanilla so this makes up some for less sugar. My friends always enjoy my baking since I always figure out how to make it a little better choice. PLEASE cut back the sugar it is not needed. Still wonndering why they posted a chocolate cake instead of a banana one? i almost past on this recipe when I seen the photo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2011
It is hard to find a banana cake recipe that doesn't seem more like a bread, but this recipe certainly fits the bill. I added 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of salt to boost the flavor. The cooking time seemed to be bang on and the toothpick clean when inserted into the middle. But, like other reviewers I was concerned when cutting into the cake that it was not cooked properly and maybe mashing the bananas would alleviate this problem next time. I drizzled a caramel glaze over the turned out cake and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing your recipe, LISAPAV!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixie'sMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I'm a soft touch for recipes that have "Grandma's" in the title. Grandmas had the best recipes and they knew what the best was supposed to be because they all seemed to know what they were doing. Sure enough, Gramma Bertha's cake did not disappoint me, although I took a little liberty with her recipe by adding 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. salt. When I cut into the cake I got concerned when I saw what looked like uncooked batter. But not to worry! I had never added sliced bananas to a batter rather than mashing them and what I was seeing (whew!) was the sliced bananas! I have no criticism of this recipe whatsoever (although I'm glad for my small additions). First, I love the texture of it - it's not as dense, as "wet" if you will, as banana breads (cakes) can sometimes be. It does have a well-developed crumb, so in my view this really is a banana CAKE, not banana bread masquerading as one. It's moist and just sweet enough – remember, the closer to mushy black your bananas are, the sweeter they'll be and so will the cake. Mine were brown-speckled. Because I baked it in a specialty Bundt pan with a lot of detail I didn't frost or glaze it, just sprinkled it with powdered sugar and I'm kind of glad for it - the cake stands on its own with no other frosting or glaze necessary, although a chocolate butter cream or cream cheese frosting would be nice, as would a vanilla or caramel glaze. Gramma Bertha's cake, I'm sure, has pleased a lot of family and friends.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Very good and as previously noted, a perfect texture somewhere between banana cake and banana bread. I used 3 1/2 mashed bananas, 1 tsp. vanilla and will make a confectioners sugar/orange juice glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
Awesome! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States