Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very moist and tasty! I added nuts and vanilla, and topped it with "Basic Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. It took a little less than 60 minutes to be done for me. More like 50-55.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I give it four stars with the following adjustments: I used more bananas and next time will bake it for less time. After 55 minutes, it was overbaked and had formed a dark crust. In the future, I'll check it at 45 minutes and keep an eye on it thereafter. However, it IS a good recipe and we enjoyed it without frosting of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sparks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This scratch banana cake is a very good, basic starting-point recipe to leave as-is, or build upon for more intense flavor & texture w/additions: vanilla extract, nuts, cinnamon/spices, choc or cinnamon chips, streusel, etc. As another reviewer suggested, swapping sour cream w/yogurt & cutting back on sugar is healthier & undetectable w/this cake (I personally swapped & it was very good/moist!) My family enjoyed it; either way, it's good as-is, or opt to flexibly customize to one's personal preference. A truly good, withstanding recipe can deliciously adapt & welcome change, if desired. YUM & thanks again for the recipe to utilize always-browning-too-fast bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I have tried a lot of different banana cake recipes that were not very good, but this one is a keeper. I baked mine in a 13 X 9 cake pan for about 40 minutes then frosted it with cream cheese frosting. The best banana cake ever! So moist and tasty. I love how the bananas are sliced not mashed. This will forever be my go to banana cake recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hesperia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Did as some others suggested and added 1 t baking powder and vanilla. Also added just a smidge of freshly ground nutmeg. I like the texture of this cake, not too dense or heavy, but still very moist. This will be my go to recipe for old bananas now. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe made a lovely, moist, bundt cake which did not require frosting. I did, however, take some reviewers advice and I added a cup of mini chocolate chips and a cup of coarsley chopped walnuts coated with flour and I mashed the bananas. I had an ounce or two of gold rum on hand and added that as well. It turned out fabulous and I will use this in the future to use up extra bananas. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving, because I wanted something different. Very good. Mine was done in a electric roaster, so it took longer than the one hour, but it was certainly worth the wait. Cream cheese frosting worked great. Absolutely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this twice, following the recipe the first time and adding a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of salt the second time. My family preferred the one with a little salt and vanilla. It's certainly a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lazy_daze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Kruse
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I love this cake! This is a keeper and will be made often at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kruse
Home Town: Herman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmd19b
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
AWESOME, DELICIOUS, FANTASTIC!!!...do not change a single thing if you make this cake, it's perfect just as it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmd19b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ludlow, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 147) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States