Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this cake last week, it was really light and fluffy and the banana taste was good , I took Sarah Jo's advice and added the salt and BP .Thank you Gramma Bertha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh my gosh!... This cake barely made it into the oven because the batter was sooo delicious. Its baking right now. Hopefully i wont burn it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is awesome. It is the best banana cake I have made. I needed to use up ripening bananas so,I made this recipe exactly as written and put in in the freezer. I served it to 10 people and received many compliments and several requested the recipe. I did not frost it but some enjoyed it with a scoop of ice cream. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Ok, I did make a few changes to the basic recipe, a few tweaks as other reviewers mentioned, added; 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking powder. I didn't have a cup of sour cream, so added what I had, maybe a 1/4 cup sour cream plus 3 extra over ripe bananas. It came out MOIST, DELICIOUS, everyone in the family loved it, will keep this recipe for next time I have over ripe bananas. It was a mix between banana bread and a cake, leans more towards the cake side, don't be afraid to try this recipe, it's very, very good, enjoy. Watch the cooking time closely, my cake was done at the 45 minute mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this cake - had some bananas I needed to use and my Moms name was Bertha, she passed away last July 4. Very moist, easy to make. My family loved it. I did not use any topping, was great with out it. Would be great hot with butter pecan ice cream on it. Will make again and keep as a family recipe in memory of my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madalynsmom
Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very moist and delicious! I put chopped walnuts in the pan before pouring the batter in, and alo added a tsp. of vanilla. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Best banana cake I have ever made. I only use 1 cup of raw sugar. It is sweet enough. Has a wonderful texture and doesn't need icing! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anj
Home Town: Ipswich, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Not sweet enough for a cake, not banana bread. Oddly in between. Did not like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this in a bundt pan. As others said, you may not want to bake the full hour. I set timer at 40 min. and it was done. (I always set a timer shorter than time calls for then check). Added salt and vanilla, also yogurt instead of sour cream. Turned out yummy, did not need frosting. Thanks Gramma !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wonky Girl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very moist and tasty! I added nuts and vanilla, and topped it with "Basic Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. It took a little less than 60 minutes to be done for me. More like 50-55.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States