Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a very true "cake" -- did not cross into banana bread territory at all. I had VERY ripe and sweet bananas, and I still used the full amount of sugar and I think that was a good call. The sweetness really makes it a proper cake. My bananas were also so ripe that they didn't really slice so much as mash themselves as I mixed the batter. As I was baking mine, we had a power outage, so it had a bit of a rough baking experience but still managed to come out perfectly done and still a bit fluffy. I'm sure baking it properly would result in an even fluffier cake, though, as I took about a minute after adding all the eggs to beat the mixture until it got really fluffy. I ended up using some leftover frosting from a layer cake on this, but I put the frosting (straight from the fridge) on the still-warm cake and once it softened a bit I spread it out more evenly. The heat from the cake make it drip down the sides and it looked very pretty; I added some rainbow sprinkles just before the icing started to harden up. I think this would be a good recipe to use for a layer cake as well -- will definitely try that next! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this cake last week, it was really light and fluffy and the banana taste was good , I took Sarah Jo's advice and added the salt and BP .Thank you Gramma Bertha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh my gosh!... This cake barely made it into the oven because the batter was sooo delicious. Its baking right now. Hopefully i wont burn it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is awesome. It is the best banana cake I have made. I needed to use up ripening bananas so,I made this recipe exactly as written and put in in the freezer. I served it to 10 people and received many compliments and several requested the recipe. I did not frost it but some enjoyed it with a scoop of ice cream. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Ok, I did make a few changes to the basic recipe, a few tweaks as other reviewers mentioned, added; 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking powder. I didn't have a cup of sour cream, so added what I had, maybe a 1/4 cup sour cream plus 3 extra over ripe bananas. It came out MOIST, DELICIOUS, everyone in the family loved it, will keep this recipe for next time I have over ripe bananas. It was a mix between banana bread and a cake, leans more towards the cake side, don't be afraid to try this recipe, it's very, very good, enjoy. Watch the cooking time closely, my cake was done at the 45 minute mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this cake - had some bananas I needed to use and my Moms name was Bertha, she passed away last July 4. Very moist, easy to make. My family loved it. I did not use any topping, was great with out it. Would be great hot with butter pecan ice cream on it. Will make again and keep as a family recipe in memory of my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madalynsmom
Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very moist and delicious! I put chopped walnuts in the pan before pouring the batter in, and alo added a tsp. of vanilla. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Best banana cake I have ever made. I only use 1 cup of raw sugar. It is sweet enough. Has a wonderful texture and doesn't need icing! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anj
Home Town: Ipswich, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Not sweet enough for a cake, not banana bread. Oddly in between. Did not like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this in a bundt pan. As others said, you may not want to bake the full hour. I set timer at 40 min. and it was done. (I always set a timer shorter than time calls for then check). Added salt and vanilla, also yogurt instead of sour cream. Turned out yummy, did not need frosting. Thanks Gramma !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 137) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States