Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JillCa
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2015
This is a winner! Moist. Light and just plain awesome! This recipe is prob good as is but I can't leave well enough alone, so I made a few tweaks. In place of the sour cream I used plain Greek yogurt to save fat and calories. Added cinnamon and vanilla as well as 1/2 tsp baking powder. Next time I'll prob add chocolate chips (gotta replace that saved fat. lol!) Overall, great recipe and will prob be my new "go to."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2015
This recipe did not work for me. I followed the recipe exactly except I mashed the bananas ( my family doesn't care for eating whole bananas in baked goods). The cake came out high and very spongy to the touch. I came back in 5 minutes and the entire cake had sunken in. It was raw-like on the inside and crunchy on the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
Added 1/2 tsp salt and drizzled leftover maple frosting on warm cake. This is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2015
Moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2015
This has great taste and texture and it was very easy to make. I didn't have a bundt pan so I baked it in a 9X13 and reduced the cooking time to 53 minutes. I followed the recipe exactly, except that I only put in 3/4 tsp baking soda due to high altitude. I think I might make cupcakes/muffins with this recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I've got to say, I was really looking forward to eating this cake. To say it is rich is a understatement because it is also very dense. This is more like a bread than cake. It was too sweet for most of us with icing (it was a birthday cake), but a few of us were able to eat a big piece of it. If you are looking for a moist, less dense (more cake-like) banana cake then this is not your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was SO delicious and fool-proof! I only made a small substitution because I didn't have enough sour cream. I had about 2/3 c. so I soured some milk (1/2 c milk w/ about 1T vinegar, sit 5 minutes) and poured that into my cup with sour cream to bring it to one cup and then threw in 1 T of room temp butter. (Found that substitution online.) Because I thought maybe I'd be a little too liquidy I tossed it maybe an extra Tablespoon or two of flour. I also added a little vanilla because I love vanilla - I'm really doubtful it was necessary! I'm not the greatest baker so I love recipes that are easy - I used a hand mixer for all steps (recipes that require specific handling are sometime out of my league, LOL). I baked in a (large) convection toaster oven at 325 - 55 minutes later the toothpick was clean all around the cake. I let it cool as instructed and worried when it didn't come out of the pan right away after the 10 minutes in the pan but after a couple of "knocks" it fell out, still in perfect shape. I served it to company so I was glad it didn't fall to pieces! (But still would have served it after tasting it - who cares how it looks - it was AMAZING!) I didn't put any frosting or even powdered sugar on it as other reviewers said it didn't need anything and it was perfect. SO, SO, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Would have been a true 4 star if I had NOT cut the sugar by 1/2 c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it.... Baked as directed. Then I added a tsp on cinnamon.... Omg. This is awesome people. Moist sweet really no need for a sugary icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. Almost 5 because it is really easy, quick, and almost fool proof. Not 5 stars because I had to make changes to my personal liking. For one I took advice and only added 1c sugar (however I then understood why people said it was a bit bland) I added 1tea of vanilla. Also one big thing I did wrong or changed by accident, I totally forgot to add the 1 c of plain yogurt I was putting in place of 1c of sour cream. I used 4 pretty large bananas and the cake was pretty moist, in fact I don't know if it would have cooked well with the 4 bananas and the cup of yogurt. It was still vey good without it. I added about 3/4cup of walnuts also. I might try brown sugar or some honey in it next time. I will definitely use this recipe as a base to use up my overripe bananas. Thanks for the good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States