Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was SO delicious and fool-proof! I only made a small substitution because I didn't have enough sour cream. I had about 2/3 c. so I soured some milk (1/2 c milk w/ about 1T vinegar, sit 5 minutes) and poured that into my cup with sour cream to bring it to one cup and then threw in 1 T of room temp butter. (Found that substitution online.) Because I thought maybe I'd be a little too liquidy I tossed it maybe an extra Tablespoon or two of flour. I also added a little vanilla because I love vanilla - I'm really doubtful it was necessary! I'm not the greatest baker so I love recipes that are easy - I used a hand mixer for all steps (recipes that require specific handling are sometime out of my league, LOL). I baked in a (large) convection toaster oven at 325 - 55 minutes later the toothpick was clean all around the cake. I let it cool as instructed and worried when it didn't come out of the pan right away after the 10 minutes in the pan but after a couple of "knocks" it fell out, still in perfect shape. I served it to company so I was glad it didn't fall to pieces! (But still would have served it after tasting it - who cares how it looks - it was AMAZING!) I didn't put any frosting or even powdered sugar on it as other reviewers said it didn't need anything and it was perfect. SO, SO, SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2014
Would have been a true 4 star if I had NOT cut the sugar by 1/2 c
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eureka, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2014
Loved it.... Baked as directed. Then I added a tsp on cinnamon.... Omg. This is awesome people. Moist sweet really no need for a sugary icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
I'd give this 4 1/2 stars if I could. Almost 5 because it is really easy, quick, and almost fool proof. Not 5 stars because I had to make changes to my personal liking. For one I took advice and only added 1c sugar (however I then understood why people said it was a bit bland) I added 1tea of vanilla. Also one big thing I did wrong or changed by accident, I totally forgot to add the 1 c of plain yogurt I was putting in place of 1c of sour cream. I used 4 pretty large bananas and the cake was pretty moist, in fact I don't know if it would have cooked well with the 4 bananas and the cup of yogurt. It was still vey good without it. I added about 3/4cup of walnuts also. I might try brown sugar or some honey in it next time. I will definitely use this recipe as a base to use up my overripe bananas. Thanks for the good easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
I thought yeah this is just another banana bread without the nuts, but wow I was wrong, it is wonderful and not a bread but a moist sweet cake. I didn't slice the bananas I diced them and left some nice big chucks, you knew you were eating a banana cake. I added a teaspoon of vanilla flavor gave it a kick. I LOVE IT !!! p.s. Next time I may add walnuts :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
This is a very true "cake" -- did not cross into banana bread territory at all. I had VERY ripe and sweet bananas, and I still used the full amount of sugar and I think that was a good call. The sweetness really makes it a proper cake. My bananas were also so ripe that they didn't really slice so much as mash themselves as I mixed the batter. As I was baking mine, we had a power outage, so it had a bit of a rough baking experience but still managed to come out perfectly done and still a bit fluffy. I'm sure baking it properly would result in an even fluffier cake, though, as I took about a minute after adding all the eggs to beat the mixture until it got really fluffy. I ended up using some leftover frosting from a layer cake on this, but I put the frosting (straight from the fridge) on the still-warm cake and once it softened a bit I spread it out more evenly. The heat from the cake make it drip down the sides and it looked very pretty; I added some rainbow sprinkles just before the icing started to harden up. I think this would be a good recipe to use for a layer cake as well -- will definitely try that next! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Etobicoke, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
I made this cake last week, it was really light and fluffy and the banana taste was good , I took Sarah Jo's advice and added the salt and BP .Thank you Gramma Bertha.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Oh my gosh!... This cake barely made it into the oven because the batter was sooo delicious. Its baking right now. Hopefully i wont burn it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is awesome. It is the best banana cake I have made. I needed to use up ripening bananas so,I made this recipe exactly as written and put in in the freezer. I served it to 10 people and received many compliments and several requested the recipe. I did not frost it but some enjoyed it with a scoop of ice cream. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Ok, I did make a few changes to the basic recipe, a few tweaks as other reviewers mentioned, added; 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking powder. I didn't have a cup of sour cream, so added what I had, maybe a 1/4 cup sour cream plus 3 extra over ripe bananas. It came out MOIST, DELICIOUS, everyone in the family loved it, will keep this recipe for next time I have over ripe bananas. It was a mix between banana bread and a cake, leans more towards the cake side, don't be afraid to try this recipe, it's very, very good, enjoy. Watch the cooking time closely, my cake was done at the 45 minute mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States