Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I really liked the cake - it was very moist and flavorful and I like just slicing the bananas in - I spent a day making three different types of cake to freeze and this was the first that we ran out of. When making any banana cake, I always take about a third of the batter and add cocoa then swirl that into the batter in the pan like a marble cake - something I did years ago and now its the only kind of banana cake my family wants. Anyways, it worked great with this recipe. It's a keeper for me. thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I love this recipe! It is easy and everyone eats it up. I like to use 4 bananas and an extra splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
Very yummy! I added chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pinckney, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by nicole
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I LOVED THIS CAKE! IT IS DELICIOUS, I MADE A CREAM CHEESE GLAZE AND CANDID THE WALNUTS THAT I PLACED ON TOP .YUMMY!! THE PICTURE IS MINE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
This was a really easy, "no fail" recipe. I barely had any butter left so I used what I had, and replaced the rest with oil and a little bit of milk. I didn't have sour cream, so I replaced that with yogurt. I added a tsp of vanilla and a teaspoon of nutmeg. I think the bananas I used were rather small, as this recipe could use a tiny bit more banana flavour. However, I am sure it is due to the small bananas I had on hand. I mashed the bananas instead as well. I cooked mine in a bundt pan for 60 minutes. This recipe is delicious! Absolutely perfect with a cup of coffee in the morning! Mmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan Blumenthal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2007
Absolutely delicious! Nice change to add sliced banana instead of mashed - more intense banana flavor - thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2007
Great way to use up the aged bananas! This cake tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Caron

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Center Barnstead, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Definitely five stars! I served at a bar-b-que (with cream cheese frosting) and everyone loved it! I doubled the recipe and also made muffins. I also added walnuts and baked at 325 degrees until done (that way it's a nice golden brown on outside and done in the middle without burning). Thank you for sharing your Gramma's recipe! Does she have any other special recipes to share??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2007
very good....i used half sour cream and half whipping cream, because that's what i had on hand. i also added a teaspoon of vanilla, just cause. i'll definitely make it again, and any excuse to use my new bundt pan will do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2007
YUMMMMY!!! This is a really good cake. I like it better than my banana bread...my husband is loving it right now. I cooked mine for 45 minutes, as the toothpick came out clean then when I poked it, and I used a real bundt pan. the picture looks like you used something else. hence maybe the longer cooking time?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States