Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2008
While the flavor of this is good, it too closely resembles a bread. My husband asked why I frosted the banana "bread". Will just stick to my old banana bread recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grandma-diane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Bradenton, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was just what I was looking for! I did make some simple modifications based on suggestions from other readers and added some cinnamon and vanilla. Since I wanted a strong banana flavor, I added 2 extra bananas that I cut into thicker slices and folded in. Frosted with banana cream cheese frosting and it was a great birthday cake for a banana-bread loving husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lawrence, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2008
My husband actually said this cake was 'too moist'. I added nuts and I thought this was a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
5 stars made with the following alterations: an extra banana, 2 mashed and 2 diced, 1 tsp of vanilla, 1/2 tsp baking powder (to lighten) and 1 tsp cinnamon. The texture is dense and intensely moist. The sliced/diced bananas make for a nice burst of banana flavor, and set this cake apart from the norm. Be aware that this recipe does not rise very much. Essentially what you see when you turn the batter into your pan is what you'll get. But the flavor is satisfyingly homey and it will keep for at least 3 days. Be sure to cover with an inverted bowl to keep it airtight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baricat

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
this is a great recipe, I modified it slightly by using only 3/4 cup sugar and 4 very ripe bananas. I also added 1 tsp salt and 2 tsp vanilla. The bundt pan works wonderfully for this recipe! I would definitely make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2008
Delicious! I was planning on putting on some powdered suger icing but the cake disappeared before I could get the icing made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
Used this recipe to make cupcakes,baked them for 40 minutes,also added 1 teaspoon of vanilla.Decorated with a cream chesse frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J P

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
Didn't have any sour cream, so I added 1/4 cup of heavy cream instead. Thus, it's my fault that this came out more like a dense banana bread than a cake. Will try again when I get some sour cream. Made the whole house smell wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarieM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Oyster Bay, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I really liked the cake - it was very moist and flavorful and I like just slicing the bananas in - I spent a day making three different types of cake to freeze and this was the first that we ran out of. When making any banana cake, I always take about a third of the batter and add cocoa then swirl that into the batter in the pan like a marble cake - something I did years ago and now its the only kind of banana cake my family wants. Anyways, it worked great with this recipe. It's a keeper for me. thanks,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
I love this recipe! It is easy and everyone eats it up. I like to use 4 bananas and an extra splash of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 140) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States