Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 9, 2010
I have made this cake several times and my family does love it. The first time I made it I had to substitute some pancake mix for regular flour. I have found than as little as half a cup of pancake mix produces a larger fluffier cake. I have also been using chocolate chips with the recipe which my family loves. This cake is usually polished off fast at my house. I have taught my daughter-in-law to make it because my son loves it so much. I give it four stars becuase I personally find it a bit flat without the pancake mix. However it is an easy recipe that is delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by screamingwallflower

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
Excellent. So easy, moist, delicious as written. Is usually finished cooking after 45 - 50 minutes in my electric oven. I've made this several times, sometimes with substitutions, and have enjoyed consistently tasty results. Would recommend to anyone. Some of the substitutions I've tried are non-dairy (margarine and imitation sour cream) and low sugar (part sugar and part Brown Sugar Splenda).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
This recipe turned out wonderful! I made it exactly as the recipe calls for but did add 1 1/2 cups of semi-sweet chocolate chips. Then I poured it into a silicone Bundt pan and baked it in the microwave for about 12 minutes. I let it cool a bit then turned it out onto my dish. I dusted it with Icing sugar immediately which cause a very light glaze. It was delicious and very easy! I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
Very moist. Used 4 bananas and didn't frost cake. We liked it quite a bit. Liked that it used the sliced bananas instead of typical mushed ones in recipe. I do think next time I might add frosting, but it didn't need it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lindsay

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
Literally my first solo attempt at baking. It turned out marvelously and it's now the number 1 seller at my school's weekly bake sale.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citygirlturnedchef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I believe that this reciepe is superior because you DON'T MASH THE BANANAS....just slice and throw in the mixer. I can't believe I haven't rated this recipe yet!! It is a FABULOUS cake and I have made it over and over again, and given the recipe away many times. I always ice it with CREAM CHEESE FROSTING II (by Janni....not JJ....there are two recipes with the same title) from this site. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Awana Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zionsville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
Excellent Cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2010
Delicious! Almost like a pound cake. I added a tsp. of vanilla and used 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 cup white sugar, so it cut down on the sweetness a bit which is fine. I used real sour cream because I wanted to make sure this turned out really good! It was sinful, I drizzled the cooled cake with a homemade cream cheese glaze (4 oz. cream cheese, 2 tbsp. butter, 2 cups powdered sugar, half & half as needed to thin it out). I will be making this again for SURE! Absolutely tasty and comfort food-ish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This was worth 5 stars to me. Very sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lenihan5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
My bf really liked this. I made it in two 9-inch rounds. The centers didn't cook as well as i'd prefer, which is probaby why the recipe recommends a bundt pan. I screwed up at first...I forgot to put flour in the batter!! I cooked it for ten min before I realized it, scooped the batter back in a bowl, added flour and recooked it. That also could have contributed to the soggy center. =) Fortunately, even with the huge mistake, my bf loved it. lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by K_Palm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States