Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This recipe made a lovely, moist, bundt cake which did not require frosting. I did, however, take some reviewers advice and I added a cup of mini chocolate chips and a cup of coarsley chopped walnuts coated with flour and I mashed the bananas. I had an ounce or two of gold rum on hand and added that as well. It turned out fabulous and I will use this in the future to use up extra bananas. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lace
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I made this for Thanksgiving, because I wanted something different. Very good. Mine was done in a electric roaster, so it took longer than the one hour, but it was certainly worth the wait. Cream cheese frosting worked great. Absolutely will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newark, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
I made this twice, following the recipe the first time and adding a teaspoon of vanilla and 1/2 teaspoon of salt the second time. My family preferred the one with a little salt and vanilla. It's certainly a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lazy_daze

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Linda Kruse
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2012
I love this cake! This is a keeper and will be made often at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda Kruse
Home Town: Herman, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jmd19b
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
AWESOME, DELICIOUS, FANTASTIC!!!...do not change a single thing if you make this cake, it's perfect just as it is!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmd19b

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Proctorsville, Vermont, USA
Living In: Ludlow, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Wow Gramma Bertha - this is one heck of a banana cake! This definitely IS a cake which is fabulous because sometimes banana cakes tend to taste more banana bread. This recipe is so easy to put together and doesn't require a lot of ingredients - nothing fancy, just plain good! I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1/2 cup of brown sugar and like most others I smashed my bananas vs. slicing. I also added 1 tsp. of vanilla and 1/2 tsp. of cinnamon along with a 1/2 tsp. of salt. And to take an already delicious cake over the top I added a whole bag of mini-chocolate chips! It was done in exactly one hour and turned out moist, tender and delicious! No icing needed, just a dusting of confectioners' sugar over top once it cooled. Thanks for sharing your Gramma's recipe LISAPAV!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Esther
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
Delicious cake. I used a Splenda/sugar blend and per other comments cut the quantity down to 1 cup. I also mashed the bananas instead of slicing them. I added in about 1tsp vanilla, 1tsp cinnamon and 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and stirred about a half cup of chopped walnuts into the batter before pouring. I cheated and used a Duncan Heinz microwavable glaze (which was very good) and topped with chopped walnuts. Everyone in the house was in love with this cake...I will definitely make it again, especially knowing that a Splenda/sugar blend will cut calories/sugar without sacrificing taste or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I found this recipe to use up bananas. It is a rich cake. I like it with a cup of coffee. Next time I make it I make it i will add a few chocolate chips or nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
Oh my goodness! I made this for my kids but I don't think I will share!!! I subbed Greek Yogurt for Sour Cream (you can do this with any recipe and you cannot tell the difference! Sooo much healthier) I also added walnuts and baked in 2 loaf pans for 1 hr. You have to try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by autumnchick84

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
This cake was so moist and so delicious!I did it as a bundt cake and I made a caramel glaze that I drizzled on top. My husband said it was crazy good. I love compliments! I definitely will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 142) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States