Gramma Bertha's Banana Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This cake is awesome. It is the best banana cake I have made. I needed to use up ripening bananas so,I made this recipe exactly as written and put in in the freezer. I served it to 10 people and received many compliments and several requested the recipe. I did not frost it but some enjoyed it with a scoop of ice cream. I will definitely make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by M
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Ok, I did make a few changes to the basic recipe, a few tweaks as other reviewers mentioned, added; 1/2 cup mini chocolate chips, 1 teaspoon vanilla, 1/2 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon baking powder. I didn't have a cup of sour cream, so added what I had, maybe a 1/4 cup sour cream plus 3 extra over ripe bananas. It came out MOIST, DELICIOUS, everyone in the family loved it, will keep this recipe for next time I have over ripe bananas. It was a mix between banana bread and a cake, leans more towards the cake side, don't be afraid to try this recipe, it's very, very good, enjoy. Watch the cooking time closely, my cake was done at the 45 minute mark
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
Made this cake - had some bananas I needed to use and my Moms name was Bertha, she passed away last July 4. Very moist, easy to make. My family loved it. I did not use any topping, was great with out it. Would be great hot with butter pecan ice cream on it. Will make again and keep as a family recipe in memory of my Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madalynsmom
Home Town: Ada, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
Very moist and delicious! I put chopped walnuts in the pan before pouring the batter in, and alo added a tsp. of vanilla. Will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Soldotna, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Best banana cake I have ever made. I only use 1 cup of raw sugar. It is sweet enough. Has a wonderful texture and doesn't need icing! Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anj
Home Town: Ipswich, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Not sweet enough for a cake, not banana bread. Oddly in between. Did not like this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
Made this in a bundt pan. As others said, you may not want to bake the full hour. I set timer at 40 min. and it was done. (I always set a timer shorter than time calls for then check). Added salt and vanilla, also yogurt instead of sour cream. Turned out yummy, did not need frosting. Thanks Gramma !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Very moist and tasty! I added nuts and vanilla, and topped it with "Basic Cream Cheese Frosting" from this site. It took a little less than 60 minutes to be done for me. More like 50-55.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2013
I give it four stars with the following adjustments: I used more bananas and next time will bake it for less time. After 55 minutes, it was overbaked and had formed a dark crust. In the future, I'll check it at 45 minutes and keep an eye on it thereafter. However, it IS a good recipe and we enjoyed it without frosting of any kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Sparks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eldon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2013
This scratch banana cake is a very good, basic starting-point recipe to leave as-is, or build upon for more intense flavor & texture w/additions: vanilla extract, nuts, cinnamon/spices, choc or cinnamon chips, streusel, etc. As another reviewer suggested, swapping sour cream w/yogurt & cutting back on sugar is healthier & undetectable w/this cake (I personally swapped & it was very good/moist!) My family enjoyed it; either way, it's good as-is, or opt to flexibly customize to one's personal preference. A truly good, withstanding recipe can deliciously adapt & welcome change, if desired. YUM & thanks again for the recipe to utilize always-browning-too-fast bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 144) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Banana Cake VI

Discover the simple secret to super-moist banana cake.

A-Number-1 Banana Cake

Watch how to make this easy and fast banana cake.

Caterpillar Cake

Make a fun caterpillar cake using just an everyday bundt cake pan!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States