Gramma Beaton's Brown Sugar Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2002
We loved these beans, they were so easy to prepare! I have a recipe for beans that is similar in flavor but much more labor intensive! These beans rock!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2002
This recipe is a very good starting place. If you like sweet beans with no hotness or spice, this is for you. I will make this again, but will add some zip to it. Jalapeno, hot sauce or something like that. Very flavorful. Kids love the sweet taste, but need to get paste the texture of kidney beans!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lillian
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
These are the best baked beans I ever had!It makes you never want to eat canned baked beans ever again.Everyone who ate them said they were better than canned.They take a long time to cook but are well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitestone, New York, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
Mild flavor. Quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cedar City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
I used Great Northern Beans and baked for 6 hours. I forgot to soak the beans overnight - but boiled them for 10 minutes or so and let them sit for an hour. This was worth having the oven on all that time. Everyone loved these! *** UPDATE*** Tried again with Kidney beans, but put in a crockpot cause it was too hot for the oven to be on all day. They were good in a crockpot - but sooo much better with Northern in the oven. . . COOK the bacon before you add it to the beans and bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
I was relieved to find a recipe without any canned beans! I used white beans, and a combination of molasses and maple syrup rather than sugar. We took it to a BBQ, and it went so fast, I had to scrape the pan to get a taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nici

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silverdale, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
Bf said he really liked these but could do without the onions and with less bacon. I used turkey bacon and less of it, but it definitely was a bit of bacon overkill. I also got a little crazy with the water--I cooked in the crockpot so probably didn't need as much. I used canned (don't have dry right now) and used 1 can of kidney and one can of black beans. Tastes great in the crockpot, so I'm sure it would be even better baked in the oven as directed. Thanks for the recipe! We'll make again with less bacon and onion powder instead of onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
Great tasting Easy I used 1/2 cup of maple syrup and 1/2 cup brown sugar and cooked 8 hrs slow cooker on low and they disappeared in no time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made these overnight last night. I used Northern beans, which I prefer for baked beans. I used a whole pound of bacon and the flavor of the bacon is really nice. I found the overall taste REALLY bland. So this morning I added: ~ 2 tbsp Worcestershire, 1/4 cup ketchup, 1 tsp onion flakes, 1 tsp dry mustard and about 1/4 cup of real maple syrup. There's already an improvement. I will serve them tonight to my BF, who tasted them this morning and also thought they were bland. We are really partial to Clark's canned baked beans and I have been trying to replicate their recipe for quite some time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2ys4you

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Lachine, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
This sounds like my Grandmother's recipe that was lost years ago! I am going to try it right away. One question, does the bacon make them greasy? I know she used a piece of salt pork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Simple Baked Beans

See how to make super quick-and-easy baked beans.

Apricot Brown Sugar Ham

An apricot jam, dry mustard, and brown sugar glaze makes baked ham special.

Bacon Baked Beans

See how to make baked beans with bacon, diced apples, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States