Grama's Peppery Parsnips Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
Bought a bag of parsnips by accident (was trying to get horseradish roots) and was desperate for a recipe to use them up. So happy I found this! I'll be intentionally buying parsnips from now on! I cut the parsnips into 1/2 inch strips. I followed the recipe with the exception of simmering the parsnips for a shorter period of time -- the were tender after about 5 minutes. While they were on the skillet with butter, in addition to pepper, I added garlic salt and garlic powder. Tasty side dish! They taste like a combination of fries and carrots.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
Easy and delicious. Thank you Grama!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally T

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Newport, Monmouthshire, Wales, U.K.
Living In: Stittsville, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2014
This was a wonderful side dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
1st time I ever cooked or ate Parsnips... and we liked them a lot. I cooked some mushrooms, onions and carrots with them, just in case it turned out we didn't like the parsnips, but no need... they were delicious on their own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Manalapan, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Easy, tasty, and almost as versatile as french fries. Used fresh, coarsely ground garlic pepper seasoning which gave this dish more in-depth flavor. If having one, use a deep skillet to avoid cleaning a saucepan and skillet. A very good recipe for busting out of a rut if feeling limited by serving the same veggie dishes over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ConkyJoe
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
This was my first experience with parsnips. They were delicious! I love how the butter flavor came through. Sweet but not too sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Donald, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
I love roasted parsnips and was looking for another way to serve them. This was very good. I threw the strips in a hot pan with half a cup of water and covered the pot until the water evaporated and the parsnips were tender. About 5 minutes or so. Then I added the butter and also some onions as others suggested. I left the pan uncovered as the vegetables caramelized. YUM. The parsnips were so sweet and tasty. Fantastic with my husband's favorite meatloaf. I also learned a lesson about buying parsnips. There was one really big one in the mix and it was too tough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
Great way to prepare parsnips. However, I find it unnecessary to boil first. I cut them into slim French fry size pieces, and they cook up fine in a combo of olive oil and butter. Takes maybe 12 to 15 minutes. A few will get very dark brown, but this is delicious, and when I make them I try to make sure that some are getting dark brown. Some thyme leaves are a good addition. This is a superb way to fix parsnips and a good way to start cycling potatoes out of the menu rotation. Great with fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
I doubled the portion and there were still none left over. Simple and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuLuSRQ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
This was a surprise hit! Neither me nor my husband had ever had parsnips this way. Parsnips have now become part of my weekly grocery list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Oven Grilled Parsnips

See how to make wonderfully caramelized “grilled” parsnips in the oven.

Ginger Carrots and Dates

Brown sugar and chopped dates add a sweet counterpoint to spicy gingered carrots.

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States