Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
These are pretty good. I did cut the recipe to 4 servings and use a large egg, after reading the reviews. I added some cinnamon, nutmeg and ground flax seed since I didn't have any walnuts. My family enjoyed them and they were definitely more healthy than the standard buttermilk pancakes!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 22, 2014
Omg. These were perfect! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out just as if I went to IHOP. New favorite Sunday breakfast. THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
I did not care for this recipe. I make buttermilk pancakes from scratch using the Betty Crocker recipe at least once per month. I thought I would try this one for the added whole grains. If I try this again, I'd use 3 eggs, flip the baking powder to soda ratios, use brown sugar instead of white (more complimentary to wheat flours), start with 2 cups buttermilk and add more for desired consistency. I'd use 6 tablespoons of oil and eliminate the milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
This recipe is great as-is. I was looking for a taste similar to the whole grain waffles at IHOP and this is the closest thus far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
I loved the fact of not using white flour at all, i subbed the sugar for stevia and apple sauce for oil that made calorie lighter and I kept the other ingredients as in recipe. Fantastic flavor and healthy! What more would you wish for yourself and your family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Only change I made was the vinegar/milk substitution. Came out fantastic, just like IHOP.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
These are great. We don't drink milk so i substituted Almond Milk (used 1.5 Tbs of vinegar to make part of it buttermilk). I also use apple sauce in place of oil and don't put quite 1/3 a cup of sugar (more like 1/4 cup). I add chopped pecans and walnuts, cinnamon, nutmeg, and vanilla. My husband adds chocolate chips to his and i usually add some sort of fruit (banana, blueberries, etc). They are great - so filling and healthy! They're so tasty you don't even need syrup or anything on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
These are so good that I've enthusiastically shared the recipe with family and last year and this year I've mixed the dry ingredients and shared it as a gift at Christmas with a note with the full recipe after it, the nuts (soaked in boiling water a minute,a few times to remove the bitter taste, but not peeled then toasted at 300 for 15-20 minutes) in a separate bag. The note says: With love from our house to yours. ------ and -------- These are our favorite pancakes. We hope they become yours. DIRECTIONS for this mix: Just add 2 eggs, beaten, ¼ cup oil, 1 cup milk AND 1½ cup buttermilk or yogurt or milk + 1 TBSP vinegar to mix. The whole recipe is below for future reference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These turned out great and so fluffy! I altered the recipe for 2 servings which is a great option if you aren't cooking for 12. It automaticly makes all the adjustments for you. No need to put 3/8 of an egg. I just addded the whole thing and also added 2 Tbsp of groud flax seed to add all of those healthy omega-3s!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Okay so I made these for the third time today. The first two times I followed the recipe exactly. They were okay but not great. I changed a few things this time and they were perfect. If you are looking for super light and fluffy pancakes you will only get that with white flour. These are great considering they are made with oats and wheat flour. These are the changes I made: I put the walnuts in the blender with the oats because my kids don't like the texture of the nuts in there. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and only 2 tbsp. of oil. I used the 1.5 cups of buttermilk but I used 1 cup of water in place of the other cup of milk. I used 2 eggs. The most important thing I think is that I made the batter the night before and let it sit in the fridge so the oats and wheat flour had time to absorb the liquid. They are thick and fluffy and not as dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States