Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
these pancakes are the best. The only adjustments I did different was to not use the milk. I just used buttermilk because they were thin enough without adding the extra milk. I also used a natural sweetner instead of the sugar and for extra fiber I used 2tabsp of wheat germ. Have made these several times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
You do need to increase the flour and oats to 1.5 cups each, as mentioned by another reviewer. These came out really good! Similar to the ones at IHOP, which I love! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
GREAT! I too use less milk & buttermilk (about 1 1/2 c total) and sometimes a bit more oatmeal and/or wheat flour (up to 1 C each). I also add 2 Tblsp wheat germ and a mashed banana. This is an EXCELLENT and easy recipe for pancakes. They taste a bit like banana bread. You will never want boxed mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
TIP-Sift and mix well the dry ingredients before adding the wet, as that will distribute salt and baking soda throughout the mix. These pancakes are going to be more dense/moist than white flour counterparts, but are much more healthy. This is a good base for adding fruits, spices or nuts! A very hearty breakfast pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Amounts for the oats and flour have been revised per the submitters request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Great-tasting pancakes. Pay attention to the review left on 4/27/2005 by the AUTHOR of the recipe- use 1.5 cups oats and 1.5 cups flour! I used mostly whole-wheat pastry flour. I just now noticed that I totally forgot the veggie oil, and they still turned out great! Even with the additional flour and oats, the batter was really thin, so I added 3 heaping TBS whole wheat flour. I also added another egg, like some other reviewers. Next time I would add more nuts, as I would have liked more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
The best pancakes I've ever tasted! I have to admit that I goofed and used all-purpose flour instead of whole wheat, but the resulting batter was so watery that I added a lot of whole wheat flour to thicken it up. The resulting pancakes were tall and fluffy and full of nutty-grain goodness. I served these with diced fresh peaches (sugared and microwaved for about a minute to make a syrup), and it was delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2005
I made these this morning, & they were great. After reading the reviews, I omitted the cup of milk. The batter was perfect. I used fresh blueberries instead of nuts. I have eaten the IHOP version several times. These are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This recipe was great. I added some cinnimon and vanilla xtract- and served with fresh blackberries- I suprised my dieting husband in bed and the results were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2005
These were very good! I used 1 cup white flour and 1/2 cup wheat instead of all wheat. I also ground the walnuts so they wouldn't be too chunky. Very yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States