Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2008
I made these exactly according to the recipe, and while I enjoyed the taste, I found them to be so dry! We had to use so much syrup to enjoy them that I'm pretty sure it cancelled out the healthy benefits of the pancakes! Since we enjoyed the taste, I think I'll try making them again (with a couple of changes to attempt getting a more moist result.) If that doesn't work out, I'll probably try another recipe the next time. **Update: I tried these again replacing the 1/4 c. oil with 1/2 c. applesauce, used 2 eggs and added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla, and liked them MUCH better - moist and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
307 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~MOMMY~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
My husband loves IHOP's Harvest Grain 'N' Nut pancakes, so I decided to give these a whirl for Father's Day. They were a big hit, and I loved them too! I made the recipe exactly as posted, except for having to make a substitution for buttermilk (lemon juice in milk), and it was fabulous! The pancakes were moist, hearty, and tasty! I served them with butter pecan syrup (you can buy an extract from Watkins or a similar company), and the whole family just loved it. My husband also likes to top his with sliced bananas, which is a yummy option. Just a note: some reviewers seemed to have trouble with the amount of liquid in the recipe. I'm in Utah, where the climate's pretty dry, and my batter turned out thick. We're also at a higher altitude, but I don't know if that makes any difference in this particular instance. Because these recipes are submitted from all over the country, where climates and altitudes vary greatly, the recipes on this site may not turn out exactly as you expect. Adjustments may need to be made. Enjoy this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
142 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I have been making pancakes similair to these for years and they are a wonderful and a delicious alternative to sugar-laden breakfast cereals. This recipe is also open to some wonderful flavour boosters such as cinnimon,vanilla extract and two tablespoons of frozen orange juice concentrate which compliments the whole wheat. The addition of about 1/2 cup of bran and wheat germ ensures an excellent and healthy breakfast!! A good idea though, is to use two rather than one egg which ensures a less dry pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I love this recipe and have made it twice for family on weekend mornings. However, I subsituted plain fat free yogurt for the buttermilk, applesauce for the oil, and splenda for the sugar and they still were fantastic! This will be a family favorite. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HogFan23

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conway, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2005
Amounts for the oats and flour have been revised per the submitters request.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2007
I have been making pancakes for my little ones for a long time and this is the best recipe by far! Some changes for our taste: Subbed applesauce for oil, cut buttermilk to 1 1/4 cup and milk to 1/2 cup and cut the sugar in half. I also added wheat germ and brewer's yeast for nutrition. They came out so fluffy and moist! The batter was almost like muffin batter (we like our pancakes thick!). finally, we dropped frozen blueberries onto the pancakes once we laddled them in the pan (got this tip from a friend and it makes for much better pancakes then if you just mix the blueberries in the batter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2006
These were great, taste like something from an upscale restaurant. I tried this with walnuts and pecans. The walnuts were better. Also added flax seed. The batter is thick. I would make the pancakes small, easier to turn and they are cooked through. The bigger cakes were doughy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Greenfield, Indiana, USA
Living In: Cape Coral, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2005
Great-tasting pancakes. Pay attention to the review left on 4/27/2005 by the AUTHOR of the recipe- use 1.5 cups oats and 1.5 cups flour! I used mostly whole-wheat pastry flour. I just now noticed that I totally forgot the veggie oil, and they still turned out great! Even with the additional flour and oats, the batter was really thin, so I added 3 heaping TBS whole wheat flour. I also added another egg, like some other reviewers. Next time I would add more nuts, as I would have liked more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
TIP-Sift and mix well the dry ingredients before adding the wet, as that will distribute salt and baking soda throughout the mix. These pancakes are going to be more dense/moist than white flour counterparts, but are much more healthy. This is a good base for adding fruits, spices or nuts! A very hearty breakfast pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2007
Wow! Sooo good - I'm just making up a second batch now because my family ate out the freezer stash. They were a little sweet for my tastes - I drop down to 3 Tbsp sugar. Thank you so much! I'm sure this will be a staple with us :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Shoreline, Washington, USA
Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States