Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2004
I have been making pancakes similair to these for years and they are a wonderful and a delicious alternative to sugar-laden breakfast cereals. This recipe is also open to some wonderful flavour boosters such as cinnimon,vanilla extract and two tablespoons of frozen orange juice concentrate which compliments the whole wheat. The addition of about 1/2 cup of bran and wheat germ ensures an excellent and healthy breakfast!! A good idea though, is to use two rather than one egg which ensures a less dry pancake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
We liked the pancakes that this recipe produced. I changed the recipe only slightly. I added 1/4 cup unblended/processed oatmeal. I used 2 eggs as I saw in a previous review, however next time would only use one. Tasted too much egg with two. I was a little confused though, original recipe calls for 1 tablespoon of egg which I thought would not be enough. I didn't use walnuts but put fresh blueberry in. I found the recipe a bit on the wet side even with the additional 1/4 cup oatmeal that I used and had to add some more flour to thicken to my liking. I would next time add some vanilla extract and cinnamon to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2004
This pancake batter is definitely too thin. I've made lots of pancakes and I think there should be more flour. I added 1/2 cup all purpose flour and they were better. However, my husband and I thought they were very good. I was hoping to find a recipe like the whole grain pancakes at IHOP. These are similar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
these pancakes are the best. The only adjustments I did different was to not use the milk. I just used buttermilk because they were thin enough without adding the extra milk. I also used a natural sweetner instead of the sugar and for extra fiber I used 2tabsp of wheat germ. Have made these several times and will continue to do so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
Great pancakes, my batter was a little runny so I had to add some extra flour, but they were delicious and filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2005
The batter was way too runny. I tried to cook it anyway but it was fried mush. After I added an additional 3/4 cup whole wheat flour, the pancakes came out great with a delicious flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2005
The best pancakes I've ever tasted! I have to admit that I goofed and used all-purpose flour instead of whole wheat, but the resulting batter was so watery that I added a lot of whole wheat flour to thicken it up. The resulting pancakes were tall and fluffy and full of nutty-grain goodness. I served these with diced fresh peaches (sugared and microwaved for about a minute to make a syrup), and it was delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2005
GREAT! I too use less milk & buttermilk (about 1 1/2 c total) and sometimes a bit more oatmeal and/or wheat flour (up to 1 C each). I also add 2 Tblsp wheat germ and a mashed banana. This is an EXCELLENT and easy recipe for pancakes. They taste a bit like banana bread. You will never want boxed mix again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2005
TIP-Sift and mix well the dry ingredients before adding the wet, as that will distribute salt and baking soda throughout the mix. These pancakes are going to be more dense/moist than white flour counterparts, but are much more healthy. This is a good base for adding fruits, spices or nuts! A very hearty breakfast pancake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MYLEEN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2005
You do need to increase the flour and oats to 1.5 cups each, as mentioned by another reviewer. These came out really good! Similar to the ones at IHOP, which I love! Will make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States