Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
Fabulous. Guess what? Guess why? I FOLLOWED THE RECIPE TO THE LETTER. Thanks, Myleen! My opinion is if you don't make the recipe as it's written, at least once, a review has no merit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
I used vanilla yogurt instead of buttermilk and I also used apple sauce instead of oil...probably a big mistake... Did not like the texture of these pancakes. I felt like it tasted like a huge oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Larababe

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I know some people don't like it when others review recipes they have adjusted. But since I feel a truly good recipe can be adjusted to accommodate many different preferences here is my review. I LOVE this pancake recipe. I have tried many different whole wheat pancakes I have liked but this one I love. I did add 2tsp of cinnamon and vanilla. I also increased the sugar for my kids from 1/3c to 1/2 c. I subbed applesauce for the oil and used only buttermilk. I also left out the nuts because my son doesn't like them. Although I would love them so maybe next time I will add them. I forgot to add I never grind the oatmeal to much to bother with. This has never presented a problem in this recipe or any other breads I have made using oatmeal. Update my son has developed a problem with digesting dairy. We were able to make these pancakes by making the following changes. I used 1 Tbsp of baking powder instead of the 2 tsp of baking soda and 1 tsp of baking powder and used almond milk in place of cows milk and buttermilk. We still loved them just as much. It did however take a bit longer to cook. Because I was able to adjust the recipe to accomodate our dietary needs and still remain tasty I feel the recipe deserves 10 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONYAWOOD

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
These were great! My boyfriend loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppell, Texas, USA
Living In: Lewisville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I have made these pancakes EVERY WEEKEND for about a year and have it down pat - from start to table in 30 minutes. Here are some of my time-saving (& money-saving) tips. I grind large batches of oatmeal at once, enough for several batches of pancakes. I buy walnuts in bulk, chop them up and store. I "make" buttermilk by adding about 2 TB of vinegar to the 1 1/2 cup of milk (I do this first before I mix the other ingredients). I bought a large electric skillets just to make these pancakes, so I make six at a time. (The electric skillet has come in handy for many other dishes as well.) I also, as other reviewers, substitute the oil with apple sauce and omit the sugar. I keep a large bag of frozen blueberries on hand, so add blueberries, dried cranberries, and walnuts. My family loves these pancakes!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
Very good! I used 2 eggs like some suggested and a Tsp of vanilla. 2nd time I used apples sauce instead of oil, about 1/4c of brown sugar instead of white, a little cinnamon and cloves. Still very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Yum! Now if I can just find a good recipe for the butter pecan syrup at IHOP we will be in heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Made exactly as recipe called for. Quite lumpy/thick but didn't want to add extra egg as other reviewers had mixed comments. Tasted very good though and just what I was hoping for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Wow. My husband and I were pleasantly surprised by how tasty these pancakes were. I used powdered buttermilk (+water), substituted most of the vegetable oil for no sugar applesauce, kept maybe a tablespoon of oil, and used splenda instead of sugar. They were not dense or heavy like some other pancakes that are "healthy." Next time we will try adding some cinnamon to the batter & putting banana slices & walnuts in while the batter is on the griddle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Yum! The walnuts are such a nice touch (don't know If I can eat pancakes without them now ;) ) I subbed some of the whole wheat flour with ground flax and wheat germ, gotta keep my tummy slim ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States