Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
My family really likes these pancakes! I have made them twice now and my 3 year old daughter can't get enough. I took the advice of a few other reviewers and used applesauce instead of the oil. Also, I did not have buttermilk on hand and used the subsitution of milk and lemon juice. The second time I made them, I used a quarter cup less oatmeal and added flaxseed for that amount then ground both ingredients together. As a final touch, I added blueberries to mixture. I did not add the nuts due to allergies. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Brundick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I think the base recipe is spot on but the walnuts detract from it. Try substituting sliced almonds and chopped pecans instead. The amount is up to you. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
These were pretty good and even better than expected. I made the full recipe and got 14 pancakes. The only changes I made was using white whole wheat flour and I made a mock buttermilk. My pancakes were slightly on the thin side, so using regular buttermilk might be neccessary. I had to cook one at a time because of this. I also was surprised at how sweet they are. I did add the optional walnuts and highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Seems superfluous to add another review, but we love this recipe. We try to make it every weekend and enjoy it with buttermilk syrup, fresh fruit, and whipped cream. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Great recipe...YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe! I went sugarless and dairy free. I used two eggs like other people suggested instead of one. Instead of oatmeal I used oat bran which was already fine so I didn't have to put it through a food processor. Instead of sugar I put in a cup of applesauce (homemade with cinnamon). Instead of milk I used almond milk, and instead of buttermilk I used soy milk with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used natural yogurt instead of buttermilk and about 1/2 cup more milk. Let the wet ingredients soak with the oatmeal (didn't blend it) for about an hour, then added the remaining dry ingredients;doubled the baking powder. Without a doubt the best pancakes I have ever made! Fluffy, tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
THese are very healthy if you exchange the vegetable oil for walnut oil. I felt they were a little thick and could've used more moisture. Next time i will try adding another egg, some applesause, a little cinnamon and more walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I added an extra egg, and because I didn't have buttermilk, I used milk and added a splash of vinegar. Instead of the suggested chopped walnuts, I added a few tablespoons of ground flax. THESE WERE AMAZING! (Next time I'll pour smaller pancakes, as the plate-size ones I did this time were difficult to flip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
We added flax seeds, chia seeds, almonds, and sunflower seed with half spelt half wheat flour. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States