Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Great recipe...YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe! I went sugarless and dairy free. I used two eggs like other people suggested instead of one. Instead of oatmeal I used oat bran which was already fine so I didn't have to put it through a food processor. Instead of sugar I put in a cup of applesauce (homemade with cinnamon). Instead of milk I used almond milk, and instead of buttermilk I used soy milk with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
I used natural yogurt instead of buttermilk and about 1/2 cup more milk. Let the wet ingredients soak with the oatmeal (didn't blend it) for about an hour, then added the remaining dry ingredients;doubled the baking powder. Without a doubt the best pancakes I have ever made! Fluffy, tasty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
THese are very healthy if you exchange the vegetable oil for walnut oil. I felt they were a little thick and could've used more moisture. Next time i will try adding another egg, some applesause, a little cinnamon and more walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
I added an extra egg, and because I didn't have buttermilk, I used milk and added a splash of vinegar. Instead of the suggested chopped walnuts, I added a few tablespoons of ground flax. THESE WERE AMAZING! (Next time I'll pour smaller pancakes, as the plate-size ones I did this time were difficult to flip).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
We added flax seeds, chia seeds, almonds, and sunflower seed with half spelt half wheat flour. AMAZING.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
These were delicious. I followed the recipe as it was and probably won't change a thing next time...or the next...or the next!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
After trying tons of different whole grain recipes and tossing waaaaay too many "hockey pucks" into the garbage, I believe we have finally found a winner. Like other reviewers I used 2 eggs, but other than that I followed the recipe. It makes a huge batch, so next time I will omit the sugar. 1/3 cup in that quantity of batter really shouldn't make that big of a difference. Also, if you are really into whole grains, you can either do a coarse blend for the oats rather than turn them into a flour or don't blend them at all. Obviously if you do decide to not blend the oats I would let the final batter sit for 5-10 minutes to let them soften a bit. If a little extra sugar and whole grains are things that you don't care too much about then keep this recipe as-is (except for the eggs) and you will be very happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
I followed previous reviewers' advice and doubled the egg, used applesauce instead of oil, and lemon juice and 2% milk in place of buttermilk. Also added cinnamon and vanilla. Much healthier and so yummy!!! Also I didn't grind down the oatmeal. Still came out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Fort Gordon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2012
Perfect! I did slight tweaks. I added another egg, used Splenda, added some flax seed also. I cooked down some fresh berries for the topping. I kept the extra batter in the fridge over night and they came out so fluffy the next day! Recipe keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diggums

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 272) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States