Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is by far the best homemade pancake recipe I have ever tried out of the probably dozen different recipes I've tried over the past three or four years. I love the texture and taste that the oats and walnuts add. Whole wheat is healthy, oatmeal is filling, walnuts are the best cooking nut (IMO), buttermilk is supposed to make great pancakes, and the genius who combined all of them in this recipe is INCREDIBLE! After making the recipe verbatim a couple times, I decided to improve it slightly. The batter was always a little runny for my taste (which made the pancakes too thin and prone to tearing/falling apart), and I don't usually have buttermilk sitting around. So, I add a tablespoon of Cream of Tartar to the dry ingredients (mix those before adding wet) and then I only use 2 cups of 2% milk... Perfect! Sitting down to feast, I love topping the pancakes with organic wildflower honey and fresh sliced bananas (for variety, try blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries as well). If I have it, a dollop of whipped cream is sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
flavor is good but too many leavening agents. it doesn't need so much. they were very awkward to flip and the batter was too thick. don't know when i'll make it again, but would cut out soda completely, i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My family really liked these pancakes! Great texture, not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are like Harvest Grain 'n Nut pancakes, but much better! Since our arid climate keeps the moisture content of flour very low, I was concerned about some comments saying the pancakes were dry or heavy. I added 1/2 cup additional buttermilk (reducing the plain milk to 1/2 cup) and added another egg. The pancakes were delicious, moist, and light but substantial enough to accommodate the heartiness of the whole grains and nuts. Great reviews from all the family members, even those not fond of nuts in baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Fantastic recipe - they freeze well and keep for the entire week of breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent! I did leave the buttermilk out of the recipe and used skim milk in its place, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
My family really likes these pancakes! I have made them twice now and my 3 year old daughter can't get enough. I took the advice of a few other reviewers and used applesauce instead of the oil. Also, I did not have buttermilk on hand and used the subsitution of milk and lemon juice. The second time I made them, I used a quarter cup less oatmeal and added flaxseed for that amount then ground both ingredients together. As a final touch, I added blueberries to mixture. I did not add the nuts due to allergies. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I think the base recipe is spot on but the walnuts detract from it. Try substituting sliced almonds and chopped pecans instead. The amount is up to you. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
These were pretty good and even better than expected. I made the full recipe and got 14 pancakes. The only changes I made was using white whole wheat flour and I made a mock buttermilk. My pancakes were slightly on the thin side, so using regular buttermilk might be neccessary. I had to cook one at a time because of this. I also was surprised at how sweet they are. I did add the optional walnuts and highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 273) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States