Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are like Harvest Grain 'n Nut pancakes, but much better! Since our arid climate keeps the moisture content of flour very low, I was concerned about some comments saying the pancakes were dry or heavy. I added 1/2 cup additional buttermilk (reducing the plain milk to 1/2 cup) and added another egg. The pancakes were delicious, moist, and light but substantial enough to accommodate the heartiness of the whole grains and nuts. Great reviews from all the family members, even those not fond of nuts in baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Fantastic recipe - they freeze well and keep for the entire week of breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Excellent! I did leave the buttermilk out of the recipe and used skim milk in its place, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2012
My family really likes these pancakes! I have made them twice now and my 3 year old daughter can't get enough. I took the advice of a few other reviewers and used applesauce instead of the oil. Also, I did not have buttermilk on hand and used the subsitution of milk and lemon juice. The second time I made them, I used a quarter cup less oatmeal and added flaxseed for that amount then ground both ingredients together. As a final touch, I added blueberries to mixture. I did not add the nuts due to allergies. Thanks for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
I think the base recipe is spot on but the walnuts detract from it. Try substituting sliced almonds and chopped pecans instead. The amount is up to you. YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
These were pretty good and even better than expected. I made the full recipe and got 14 pancakes. The only changes I made was using white whole wheat flour and I made a mock buttermilk. My pancakes were slightly on the thin side, so using regular buttermilk might be neccessary. I had to cook one at a time because of this. I also was surprised at how sweet they are. I did add the optional walnuts and highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Seems superfluous to add another review, but we love this recipe. We try to make it every weekend and enjoy it with buttermilk syrup, fresh fruit, and whipped cream. Fantastic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
Great recipe...YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
Great recipe! I went sugarless and dairy free. I used two eggs like other people suggested instead of one. Instead of oatmeal I used oat bran which was already fine so I didn't have to put it through a food processor. Instead of sugar I put in a cup of applesauce (homemade with cinnamon). Instead of milk I used almond milk, and instead of buttermilk I used soy milk with lemon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States