Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. I have not had IHOP pancakes in a long time, so I can't compare them. However, judging them on their own merit I would say they are wonderful in their own right. I followed the recipe as listed, but I did add about 2 TBS each of chopped pecans and almonds along with the walnuts. I sprayed my pan with a light coating of cooking spray for most of the pancakes and really liked them. However, I did use about a tsp of oil in the pan for the last 2 pancakes, and I thought those were much better. Either way, I will be making this recipe again...thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I've never had the Harvest Nut n' Grain pancakes, so didn't have anything to compare to. The flavor of these was really nice but oh my were they CRUMBLY! I'd have been better off with a bowl and spoon, eating syrup soaked crumbs. The only things I changed were to use olive oil and I forgot to add nuts. I don't know if I'll make again. They weren't spectacular enough to leave a big impression.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
An awesome recipe once you add one more egg, a bit of cinnamon and some almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is by far the best homemade pancake recipe I have ever tried out of the probably dozen different recipes I've tried over the past three or four years. I love the texture and taste that the oats and walnuts add. Whole wheat is healthy, oatmeal is filling, walnuts are the best cooking nut (IMO), buttermilk is supposed to make great pancakes, and the genius who combined all of them in this recipe is INCREDIBLE! After making the recipe verbatim a couple times, I decided to improve it slightly. The batter was always a little runny for my taste (which made the pancakes too thin and prone to tearing/falling apart), and I don't usually have buttermilk sitting around. So, I add a tablespoon of Cream of Tartar to the dry ingredients (mix those before adding wet) and then I only use 2 cups of 2% milk... Perfect! Sitting down to feast, I love topping the pancakes with organic wildflower honey and fresh sliced bananas (for variety, try blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries as well). If I have it, a dollop of whipped cream is sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
flavor is good but too many leavening agents. it doesn't need so much. they were very awkward to flip and the batter was too thick. don't know when i'll make it again, but would cut out soda completely, i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My family really liked these pancakes! Great texture, not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
These are like Harvest Grain 'n Nut pancakes, but much better! Since our arid climate keeps the moisture content of flour very low, I was concerned about some comments saying the pancakes were dry or heavy. I added 1/2 cup additional buttermilk (reducing the plain milk to 1/2 cup) and added another egg. The pancakes were delicious, moist, and light but substantial enough to accommodate the heartiness of the whole grains and nuts. Great reviews from all the family members, even those not fond of nuts in baked goods.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by busybee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Subvet

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Islip Terrace, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Fantastic recipe - they freeze well and keep for the entire week of breakfasts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Rowlett, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 277) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States