Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Great flavor... so much better than a box mix and easy to make. I halved all ingredients except the egg; this made 10 4" pancakes. Plenty for me and my husband. I use pecans rather than walnuts in pancakes, and I added 1/2 Tbsp of ground flax seed for health benefits. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
In effort to keep this recipie as natural and healthy as possible I omitted the sugar and replaced it with honey. I used 2% milk for milk and buttermilk. No buttermilk? Add one tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice to a liquid measuring cup. Then, add milk until the amount reaches one cup. Let the mixture stand at room temperature for 5-10 minutes. It should look curdled. Stir and you have homemade buttermilk! I cut the wheat flour down to one cup and added a half cup of flax seed meal. I switched the veg oil to olive oil. Served with a little maple syrup on top and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I liked these very much! I did make some changes, though. I used Greek yogurt in place of buttermilk, and I used applesauce instead of oil. And since the batter was very thick, I used extra applesauce and extra milk to make it thinner. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of orange peel and a teaspoon of vanilla for taste. And, I added some blueberries! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. I have not had IHOP pancakes in a long time, so I can't compare them. However, judging them on their own merit I would say they are wonderful in their own right. I followed the recipe as listed, but I did add about 2 TBS each of chopped pecans and almonds along with the walnuts. I sprayed my pan with a light coating of cooking spray for most of the pancakes and really liked them. However, I did use about a tsp of oil in the pan for the last 2 pancakes, and I thought those were much better. Either way, I will be making this recipe again...thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I've never had the Harvest Nut n' Grain pancakes, so didn't have anything to compare to. The flavor of these was really nice but oh my were they CRUMBLY! I'd have been better off with a bowl and spoon, eating syrup soaked crumbs. The only things I changed were to use olive oil and I forgot to add nuts. I don't know if I'll make again. They weren't spectacular enough to leave a big impression.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
An awesome recipe once you add one more egg, a bit of cinnamon and some almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This is by far the best homemade pancake recipe I have ever tried out of the probably dozen different recipes I've tried over the past three or four years. I love the texture and taste that the oats and walnuts add. Whole wheat is healthy, oatmeal is filling, walnuts are the best cooking nut (IMO), buttermilk is supposed to make great pancakes, and the genius who combined all of them in this recipe is INCREDIBLE! After making the recipe verbatim a couple times, I decided to improve it slightly. The batter was always a little runny for my taste (which made the pancakes too thin and prone to tearing/falling apart), and I don't usually have buttermilk sitting around. So, I add a tablespoon of Cream of Tartar to the dry ingredients (mix those before adding wet) and then I only use 2 cups of 2% milk... Perfect! Sitting down to feast, I love topping the pancakes with organic wildflower honey and fresh sliced bananas (for variety, try blueberries, blackberries, and strawberries as well). If I have it, a dollop of whipped cream is sensational.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
flavor is good but too many leavening agents. it doesn't need so much. they were very awkward to flip and the batter was too thick. don't know when i'll make it again, but would cut out soda completely, i think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
My family really liked these pancakes! Great texture, not heavy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States