Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
These turned out great and so fluffy! I altered the recipe for 2 servings which is a great option if you aren't cooking for 12. It automaticly makes all the adjustments for you. No need to put 3/8 of an egg. I just addded the whole thing and also added 2 Tbsp of groud flax seed to add all of those healthy omega-3s!!:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2013
Okay so I made these for the third time today. The first two times I followed the recipe exactly. They were okay but not great. I changed a few things this time and they were perfect. If you are looking for super light and fluffy pancakes you will only get that with white flour. These are great considering they are made with oats and wheat flour. These are the changes I made: I put the walnuts in the blender with the oats because my kids don't like the texture of the nuts in there. I added 1/2 cup of applesauce and only 2 tbsp. of oil. I used the 1.5 cups of buttermilk but I used 1 cup of water in place of the other cup of milk. I used 2 eggs. The most important thing I think is that I made the batter the night before and let it sit in the fridge so the oats and wheat flour had time to absorb the liquid. They are thick and fluffy and not as dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
If I were to rate the original recipe, I have to give it four stars. I used apple sauce instead of oil. They were great! I froze the extra and have enjoyed through through the week reheating in a toaster over for 15 minutes, just like when they were made. I have these with a nice layer of vanilla yogurt on them (I don't care for syrup), I really enjoyed the walnuts in the recipe. I would add a few more walnuts next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2013
I cut the proportions to make 4 pancakes, but still used 1 egg and they came out perfect. I love IHOP's nut and grain pancakes and now I can make them at home. Thank you so much for sharing this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Great flavor... so much better than a box mix and easy to make. I halved all ingredients except the egg; this made 10 4" pancakes. Plenty for me and my husband. I use pecans rather than walnuts in pancakes, and I added 1/2 Tbsp of ground flax seed for health benefits. Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bloomington, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
In effort to keep this recipie as natural and healthy as possible I omitted the sugar and replaced it with honey. I used 2% milk for milk and buttermilk. No buttermilk? Add one tablespoon of white vinegar or lemon juice to a liquid measuring cup. Then, add milk until the amount reaches one cup. Let the mixture stand at room temperature for 5-10 minutes. It should look curdled. Stir and you have homemade buttermilk! I cut the wheat flour down to one cup and added a half cup of flax seed meal. I switched the veg oil to olive oil. Served with a little maple syrup on top and they were perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
I liked these very much! I did make some changes, though. I used Greek yogurt in place of buttermilk, and I used applesauce instead of oil. And since the batter was very thick, I used extra applesauce and extra milk to make it thinner. I also added 1/2 teaspoon of orange peel and a teaspoon of vanilla for taste. And, I added some blueberries! Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I thought this recipe was great. I have not had IHOP pancakes in a long time, so I can't compare them. However, judging them on their own merit I would say they are wonderful in their own right. I followed the recipe as listed, but I did add about 2 TBS each of chopped pecans and almonds along with the walnuts. I sprayed my pan with a light coating of cooking spray for most of the pancakes and really liked them. However, I did use about a tsp of oil in the pan for the last 2 pancakes, and I thought those were much better. Either way, I will be making this recipe again...thanks so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I've never had the Harvest Nut n' Grain pancakes, so didn't have anything to compare to. The flavor of these was really nice but oh my were they CRUMBLY! I'd have been better off with a bowl and spoon, eating syrup soaked crumbs. The only things I changed were to use olive oil and I forgot to add nuts. I don't know if I'll make again. They weren't spectacular enough to leave a big impression.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
An awesome recipe once you add one more egg, a bit of cinnamon and some almond extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 274) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States