Grain and Nut Whole Wheat Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2015
These pancakes are AMAZING! After reading other reviews, I decided to add an extra egg. I usually choose pecans over walnuts, but the walnuts (chopped small) are the perfect texture in this recipe. Also, my mother-in-law doesn't usually care for whole wheat anything...she said she likes these pancakes better than her regular ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2015
Loved it and best of all hubby and kids did too! I made a couple of changes, however. I substituted milk and lemon juice for buttermilk as someone had commented before because I did not have buttermilk. That worked fine. I also used 2 tablespoons of stevia in replace of 1/3 cup of sugar and I added half a mashed banana for added sweetness. Finally I found that I had to drop the heat down a bit after each batch. This helped to keep them moist and to not burn. Super yummy I will be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2015
I too have made whole wheat pancakes for a number of years. I thought they were really awesome. My husband and I agree that they were superb with the ground up oats and walnuts. Ours were a perfect consistency and the walnuts were a nice healthy touch. Seasonal fruit would be good as well. I think I'll use strawberry freezer jam for syrup next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2015
I've followed this recipe as it is written and I have played around with different nut milks and egg replacer to make this vegan. A huge hit, every time! They freeze well, too. I live by the beach in southern California, and thought that this might influence the texture of the pancakes, but I am consistently pleased with the results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ABoston

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tifton, Georgia, USA
Living In: Manhattan Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
Outstandingly delicious! I just surprised my wife with these for Valentine's Day breakfast in bed. We both like them better than iHOP. Also, I used pecans & pecan syrup. Our new fave at-home pancake recipe. Thanks Myleen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
Awesome. I am at high altitude, and used some of "mommy"s adjustments. Best pancakes ever! I used the 1/4 c. oil AND added 1/2 c. applesauce, used 2 eggs and added 1 tsp. cinnamon and 1 tsp. vanilla. My favorite pancakes ever! My family loved them and we still have some leftovers for tomorrow, although hard not to snack on them through the day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Made my buttermilk w 1 cup 2% milk to 1 tablespoon of white vinegar and let it sit 5 minutes. I ended up w an extra half cup of liquid that I didn't need. Great hearty pancakes. I would add about a dozen more chopped pecans. Husband loved me
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I have made these pancakes so many times with some alterations (the four stars is before alterations). It's a very flexible recipe, but the one consistent thing I do is to NOT grind the oats, and usually use all soured milk (I wish it was buttermilk, but I never have any, so I just sour the milk with vinegar). These are so perfectly melt in your mouth delicious with a delightful texture from the whole oats, which I think also would resolve the problem people have with them being too heavy and dry. I have subbed banana or butter for the oil (depending on how fat I felt), used white and regular whole wheat flour, subbed pumpkin for some of the liquid, added vanilla and cinnamon/nutmeg/cloves, cut back on the sugar, etc., and these turn out every time. I have had everyone whose eaten them ask for the recipe and it is now their go-to for pancakes. Make these today.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2014
I was looking for a healthier pancake option and I'm so glad to have found this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Fluffy, soft, cake-like texture with a full grainy flavor. Absolutely amazing! The first time I followed the recipe exactly (shocker, right?) and they were fantastic. The second time I substituted coconut sugar and they were still fantastic. For those who don't know, coconut sugar tastes more like caramel (I HATE coconut flavor). It was a wonderful addition if you have some around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 286) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Whole Grain Waffles

See how truly delicious whole grain waffles can be.

Buttermilk Pancakes II

Using buttermilk gives these pancakes a nice tang and makes them fluffy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States