Graham Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
This was an awsome coffee cake and so easy. I did change a couple of things. First, I added some cinnamon and madagascar vanilla to the cake batter for a little extra flavor. I only used 6Tbs of butter for the struesel topping and the consistency was perfect. I pour about 1/2-3/4 of the batter into a greased 9x13 pan. I then sprinkled 1/2 of the topping evenly over the batter. I dropped spoonfulls of the remaining batter over the topping. I made large circles with a knife to distribute the top batter and mix in the struesel topping (don't stir, just swirl a few times) I then topped with more topping. Baked for 30 minutes at 350 and did not use the drizzle of powdered sugar as it did not need it!! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingblonde

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2002
This is an easy-to-make, excellent cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALICIA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
I love this cake! I made it in a bundt pan and drizzled icing over it while still warm. Very nice presentation for our Father's Day dessert get together. Everyone loved it! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALICIA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2007
DELICIOUS!! Only change I made was omitting the nuts and using cinnamon graham crackers instead of plain. As my family puts it "this is a keeper!!" Thanks for the terrific recipe. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2003
This is absolutely one of the best coffeecakes I've tasted--homemade or otherwise. I cut the amount of butter to one stick, and I use a butter-flavored cake mix and cinnamon graham crackers, and the results are wonderful. This will be a favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Certainly a pretty cake (almost a guarantee if you use a specialty Bundt pan as I did) but nothing special in taste. (Hubs had a couple of bites and left the rest on his plate. I didn't even get THAT far) Even substituting freshly squeezed orange juice for the water and adding a tablespoon of fresh orange zest and a teaspoon of vanilla didn't elevate this beyond a mediocre, doctored up cake mix - and there are some doctored up cake mix recipes that are excellent! Also, a mere 1/4 cup of oil left this a little dry. For those who are still interested, I used a specialty Bundt pan which required only half of the the topping mixture. Because mine is a dark pan, I lowered the oven temperature to 325 degrees, and it was baked perfectly at about 42 minutes. I drizzled it with a glaze of fresh orange juice and powdered sugar. The remaining streusel (and there was quite a bit leftover) I froze for later use to top muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
Great and Simple! I have made it twice, and both times it was a big hit. It also freezes really well. The streusel call for way too much butter - probably 6 tbsp. would be enough. My streusel did not sink, but then I used finely ground crumbs and chopped nuts. I also mixed cinnamon into the cake mix to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2000
This recipe was great. I don't like nuts so I changed it a bit... instead of the walnuts I used 1/2 cup rolled oats and increased the butter to a full cup. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2003
This was a very good coffee cake. I had the same problem as some of the other reviewers, where the topping sunk to the bottom. It still tasted very good though. I think next time I may try adding the topping later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
This is a very good coffee cake, but I think it stops short of being great. That being said, I would make it again, because it's sure to be a crowd pleaser. I did take the advice of other reviewers and cut down the butter to one stick (1/2 c.) rather than 2/3 c., which seemed excessive and like it would make the filling sink to the bottom. I had no issues with that happening. This is very sweet, between the cake mix, the sugar in the streusel, and the drizzled glaze. I tried a slice w/out the glaze and it seemed to need a certain something, so I used the glaze...that made it quite a bit sweeter. I am bringing this to work for a Christmas surprise, and I am sure my coworkers will love it. The graham makes for an unusual, though good, change in your regular coffee cake. Oh, by the way, 1/ 1/3 cups of graham crumbs is 1 sleeve of crackers (9 whole crackers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States