Graham Streusel Coffee Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
Just made this tonight and I wish that I had made it in a 9X13 pan instead of choosing the Bundt pan. Needless to day, 1/2 got stuck in the pan, but I put all the pieces on the plate, drizzled with the icing, and we ate it. It still tastes great even though it doesn't appease the eyes. I did use applesauce instead of the oil (I almost always do). To make the streusel: crushed up 1 sleeve of low-fat cinnamon graham crackers in a gallon sized bag, added 1/2 cup brown sugar and 3 tablespoons melted butter. Mushed in the bag until combined. This made it very easy to put onto the cake and the streusel part is the best part of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is the best coffee cake I have ever tasted, and I followed the recipe exactly. It was such a hit that everyone wanted a copy of the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
There wasn't a single person that didn't love this. It was a "huge" success. I brought it to the office and the compliments were huge. My family was very upset that I took it to share with my colleagues, because it meant that they didn't have as much for themselves. I used pecans instead of walnuts and it worked very well. I was sure the 9" x 13" pan was the wrong size (too large) because the batter spread very thin and barely covered - but once baked, there was a lot more height and I was happy I didn't change the size pan used. Next time, I will definately try this without the icing as the only negative was that the cake was "very very" sweet (it didn't stop anyone from gobbling it up). The recipe says "best if served warm," but none of us agreed. We enjoyed it even more the 2nd day .............. the only reason there was a 2nd day is that I made this late at night on day 1.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
WONDERFULL!! I made this for my boyfriend to take to work. He had half the batch before it made it in to his office. Here are the changes that I made, (used what I had on hand) I doubled the recipe: 1 box french vanilla cake mix 1 box butter pecan cake mix unsweetened applesauce in place of the oil half low fat cinnamon sugar graham crackers and half cinnamon brown sugar Ritz crackers For the Glaze: Substituted almond extract for vanilla, used milk to thin. I also added icing color gel in 2 diffrent batches for my boyfriends school colors (hes a teacher) This is a fantastic recipe, and I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by squeeziebrb

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I used devil's food cake instead of yellow cake and seasoned the batter with vanilla and allspice. Omitted the nuts as I didn't have any on hand. Awesome results!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Francine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Elizabeth, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I had to eliminate the nuts due to allergies but everyone really liked this cake. I missed the nuts. Thanks luvs2bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Providence, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Johnston, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2009
Made this for Christmas dinner and everyone raved!! Only change I made was to use cinnamon graham crackers...it really makes a difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
I loved this recipe just the way it is except I used pecans in place of the walnuts. It turned out really great with no problems. It was very sweet not something I could eat very often but I think it would be great for holiday mornings. Thanks luvs2bake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2009
I did have a couple of problems with this cake - the topping mostly sank to the bottom and the sides kind of came off when I took it out of the pan. I baked it in a silicone pan, which might have been a mistake. After 1 hour it was still not even cool enough for me to flip it out without an oven mitt. BUT It was seriously the best tasting cake I've ever had! I used some creative decorating with fruit to hold up the sides until they cooled down and set. This was for a bridal shower as a last-minute addition to the red velvet I had already prepared. It outshined the red velvet in every way! I did not use the topping. I used Trader Joe's vanilla cake mix and their cinnamon grahams as well. I will be making this over and over and over again - but never again in a silicone pan. Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Yummy! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Dora, Florida, USA
Living In: Mobile, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States