Graham Moist Lemon Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2007
These are much better than I thought they'd be. Be careful baking the graham cracker crust-15 minutes should do it. Mine started to brown along the edges. When making the lemon filling, I beat each ingredient for about a minute & ended up with a light & fluffy batter. I kept it in the oven an extra 5 minutes with the heat off, to set the middle of the lemon filling more. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
I made a few adjustments which were the only things keeping me from rating the original recipe with five stars. The graham crust required no mental adjustment for me--this is how my mom always made them! Basically because I wanted a really tart square, I added a splash extra lemon juice (regular ole bottled stuff) and did like nora and only added 2.5 cups of sugar. Added an extra tbsp or so of flour to the filling; it seemed a little watery. I also omitted the confectioner's sugar. As I say; I wanted 'em tart. Began eating them out of the pan only mostly cooled--a very good sign! In fact, I was shocked hear my ultra-picky fiance making happy noises while he ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aredendra

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2000
This is a very good bar as is but I have also made it with key lime juice and cut the sugar down by 1/2 cup and it won raves from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2008
The recipe was really easy to follow and it worked out great. I added lemon zest and coconut to the top and they couldn't be more delicious! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2000
It was hard to press the graham cracker crust firmly into the pan, so as a result the lemon topping soaked into the crust. I ended up with a lemony graham crust with a millimeter thick lemon layer on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2008
Sorry, I hate to give bad reviews, but honestly this was not good. It came out chewy and is just not what a lemon bar should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2008
These were pretty good except for several things. The first was that my crust would not spread the entire pan so I had to make 2 bowls of it to get enough. They tasted good but were SO sticky. Also they were a little too sweet. I did not sprinkle sugar on top of them either. If I had done that I would not have been able to eat them due to the sweetness. Not too bad but has room for improvement.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2008
These lemon bars are great. I've made them twice and received lots of compliments both times for the combo of the graham cracker crust (you'll never make lemon bars with a different crust again) and the gooey lemon. Make sure you serve these with napkins around!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2008
I made these in store bought mini graham crusts to save on time. I like how fast the mixture came together but I didn't like how much sugar is in it. I feel the finished product is way too sweet. It's very good nonetheless. Next time I will cut the sugar by at least half so that the lemon doesn't get overwhelmed. I used Fresh lemon juice and served with homemade whipped cream. 1 cup heavy cream, Vanilla to taste and sugar to taste beat until stiff peaks form and serve. 5 minutes with a stand mixer maybe 10 minutes with a hand mixer. Make sure everything is very cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I did a half-batch and used 1-1/4 cups of graham crumbs with 4 TBS margarine and ½ TBS sugar for the crust. It was the perfect amount to fill the 8"-square pan which I lined with foil and sprayed with no-stick spray. I followed the rest of the recipe (although halved) except for only using 1-1/4 cups of sugar (it could stand to lose another 1/4 cup) and I omitted the confectioners' sugar. The lemon filling did get sort of sucked into the crust and it was still a little too sweet... But it was pretty tasty! I might make them again. Thanks for sharing, Carrie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States