Graham Cracker Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
BEST GRAHAM CRACKER CRUST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paverman

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I guess this crust will turn out okay, but the egg yolk is really pointless. Way to thick to brush on anything, let alone crumbly cracker crumbs. Also, 1 yolk could never cover a 9 inch circle. I don't get it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IronChefHarvey

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2010
While the crust was tasty, while pressing it into the pie pan firmly then brushing on the egg yolk, I think the yolk ended up sealing in the moisture from the crust, and therefore the crust turned out tough. This would be good if you needed to make the pie a day+ in advance perhaps, providing a barrier between filling and crust, but I wouldn't do this if I made the pie the same day I was eating it...tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Great taste with lower sugar and fat than my old recipe. Three ideas: I microwaved Imperial margarine (lowest fat margarine)in the pie plate to butter the pan; then used fingers/back of spoon to spread the crumbs so it made the butter disperse and stay together; Hints from Heloise's tip that I use for all pies: use a whole egg, lightly beaten, and apply with a pastry brush to the bottom only though for this, I followed the recipe and covered the sides as well. This crust was used for a fudge pie...a winning combination of fudge chocolate and a buttery crust. My family raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This was good and I used it with Key Lime Pie IX. I don't get the egg yolk part and will leave this out next time. And I would use more butter, like maybe 4 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss1977

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
This crust is easy and good. I think it wouldve been much better if I hadn't overbaked it. It freaked me out a bit when I took it out after 10 min--was almost liquidy like a cake or quick bread. So I put it back in the oven for another 10 min. Not a good idea--overbaked it with my cheesecake. However, the taste is good, just a bit difficult to cut. ;o) I used gingersnap cookies bc I didn't have graham crackers, and used margarine bc I can't eat butter. It was easy enough to brush egg on; perhaps bc of how greasy it was. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2008
I made a double batch of this recipe because I was making two pies, a fresh Strawberry and a Key Lime. I followed the recipe exactly, except for using plain graham crackers instead of cinnamon ones, and carefully pressed the mixture into two glass 9" pie plates. I used a wide spoon to smooth the crust and press it very firmly in place. When I began brushing the beaten egg yolk on( using a soft, long bristled pastry brush), everything started to fall apart! The sticky yolk just tore up my crust. It was a very tedious and messy job, and I used both my beaten yolks on the first crust, and it was very unevenly covered. I decided to put the second crust in the freezer to firm up the melted butter while I baked the first yolky one in the oven. When it came out of the oven, it was definately well set, and no longer crumbly. I took piecrust number two out of the freezer and lo and behold it was nice and firm, and the yolk brushing went perfect with no crumbling! Finished result- excellent crusts! Just chill before brushing on the egg yolk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flying chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really like this recipe. The egg yolk was hard to brush onto the crust (that's why I gave it four stars), but I actually ended up spreading it easier with the back of a measuring spoon. I wonder if I refrigerated the crust before brushing the yolk if the cold butter would hold the crust together better. Because of the review saying the crust stuck to the pan, I brushed my stoneware pie plate with a very little amount of butter. No sticking! I didn't use cinnamon graham crackers because cinnamon wouldn't fit with the lemon truffle pie. I used organic graham crackers to avoid partially hydrogenated veg. oil. I'll definitely use this crust over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
It was good but I also had the trouble with brushing the yolk on...the whole crust clumped up. I got it to press back down afterwards but I honestly didnt taste the difference. It was good but I didnt taste the difference the egg made. Next time I'll leave the egg out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
The taste was great, however, I found it hard to press into the pie pan without it crumbling. It may need more butter or a "sticking agent" than listed on the recipe. It even stuck to my baking pan. The taste, however, was great...so this is probably a recipe I will use again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States