Graham Cracker Crust III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2000
We loved this recipe with gingersnaps rather than graham. It took me 2 egg yolks to brush on entire surface, but the egg is what makes the crust so perfect. Thanks for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2001
This crust tasted wonderful; however, it stuck to the pie pan and we had to destroy our pie to get it out. The taste was so good that I will try again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2001
I felt really dumb, but I found it nearly impossible to brush the crust with egg yolk. It kept clumping up on the pastry brush. I added water to thin the egg yolk to no avail. I did like the idea of using cinamon graham crakers, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2002
This was the first time I ever got a compliment on a pie crust!! I used 2 cups of Cinnamon Sugar Oatmeal Crunch graham crackers (Kroger brand), 1/2 cup melted butter, and 3 T of sugar for one 9 1/2 inch deep dish pie. The taste was an awesome compliment to the French Silk chocolate filling. I didn't have a bit of trouble spreading the egg yolk...but I pressed the crust REALLY hard into the plate so I think that may have stabilized it. Also, it cut and served like a dream! Thanks for sharing! This will be the ONLY graham cracker crust I serve from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmichaels, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Suwanee, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2006
i too had trouble brushing on egg yolk, even after i beat it a while. i thought that was the trick, but it wasn't. and yes, it was very firmly pressed. i wish jackie would respond and tell us how she brushes this one. if i had about 3 yolks, i guess i could do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2006
The best that I have ever made--and had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
For those having problems with the crumbs while brushing on the egg...make sure you are using real butter and not margarine. It may make a difference. And, make sure the crumbs are very fine and not chunky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
The taste was great, however, I found it hard to press into the pie pan without it crumbling. It may need more butter or a "sticking agent" than listed on the recipe. It even stuck to my baking pan. The taste, however, was great...so this is probably a recipe I will use again with modifications.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2008
It was good but I also had the trouble with brushing the yolk on...the whole crust clumped up. I got it to press back down afterwards but I honestly didnt taste the difference. It was good but I didnt taste the difference the egg made. Next time I'll leave the egg out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I really like this recipe. The egg yolk was hard to brush onto the crust (that's why I gave it four stars), but I actually ended up spreading it easier with the back of a measuring spoon. I wonder if I refrigerated the crust before brushing the yolk if the cold butter would hold the crust together better. Because of the review saying the crust stuck to the pan, I brushed my stoneware pie plate with a very little amount of butter. No sticking! I didn't use cinnamon graham crackers because cinnamon wouldn't fit with the lemon truffle pie. I used organic graham crackers to avoid partially hydrogenated veg. oil. I'll definitely use this crust over and over again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States