Graham Cracker Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2006
I was pretty stupid with this one: When I read "16 graham crackers" I thought the WHOLE cracker (with the 4 separations in it) was 1 cracker, when it was actually 4!!! So I ended up using 64 crackers (4X the number needed), which of course resulted in there not being enough butter to moisten them. After I realized this, I removed 1/2 the crackers and added another 1/4 cup of butter, and it turned out fine even though the proportions were off! Make sure you know that 1 cracker is 1/4 of a "sheet" as it comes in the package!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
338 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sally S.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
4*'s because the recipe needs an alteration. Sorry, but some of these reviews are just dead wrong in terms of what is meant by "16 crackers." The only way to fill up the pie plate (I used a 9 inch) substantially enough to get a sturdy crust is to use 16 WHOLE graham crackers: that's 16 of the large rectangles. Otherwise your crust will be flimsy & very difficult to spread evenly. However, in using 16 whole crackers you have to increase the butter to a 1/2 CUP. With those indications it's a great crust. I made it with Key Lime Pie VII so the no-sugar-needed aspect of this crust was a perfect compliment. I did not pre-bake (only baked the time necessary for the pie) and I greased the pie plate w/ the butter wrapper. The pie slices slipped right out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2005
Great! I used this for cheesecake and didn't prebake it beforehand. I used 1 1/2 cups of graham cracker crumbs. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2005
A perfect pie crust. All that added sugar in other crusts is unnecessary! This works well with either butter or margarine, and it's an easy start to a super-quick recipe - a pudding pie! :) Although you might want to spray a little non-stick spray into the pie plate before adding the crumb-butter mixture, I've had problems trying to get the crust to come loose from the pan. A little Pam spray and it's so much easier. Thanks, Sara!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I'm giving this recipe only 4 stars since it doesn't give enough information, otherwise it's a good crust. If you're using a deep dish pie plate, you'll need to increase the recipe. Also, if you're using Graham Cracker crumbs, then you'll need actual measurements. Therefore, for a deep dish pie crust, use 2 cups crumbs and 1/2 cup butter/margarine. And make sure you press down firmly all over the pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2004
I have made this crust many times from this recipe and it always turns out great. I usually double it and put it in a casserole dish for a larger dessert. Be sure to press it firmly. That is the key to success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
I've always made this crust by eyeing the proportions - it's great to finally have an exact recipe! It looks like 1 tbsp butter per 'sheet' of 4 graham crackers. Crushed the graham crackers in a ziplock bag with a rolling pin. Works great with margarine also, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2004
As far as taste goes, I would give this a 5 *****, but it was just a pain to make. I needed about another tablespoon or so of butter (don't expect it to clump so much). It just takes some time to get used to it, get working with it in the pie pan to stick and hold a good shape. After baking, however, it keeps together perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
Shame on me for not reading the reviews before making this crust! I always get confused about what makes up "1" cracker - I guessed wrong and figured 2 crackers per sheet and had WAY too many crumbs and a crust that fell apart. Otherwise, this is a nice, simple graham cracker crust recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I also made this to go with Key Lime Pie VII. I wanted to clarify on the whole graham cracker confusion. Depending on what brand graham crackers you buy, they may or may not come in square form. The one I bought was a generic brand from the store, and the sleeves contained squares of graham crackers. They were approximately 2inx2in and worked great in the recipe. If you are using the HoneyMaid brand, I believe each sheet of graham cracker you get in there contains 2 squares/4 rectangles. Therefore if you are using something like this, use only 8 whole sheets. Hope this helps clear up things a bit. This was a simple, no fuss recipe which made a great crust. I also used my food processor to make the crumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States