Graham Cracker Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I'm giving this recipe only 4 stars since it doesn't give enough information, otherwise it's a good crust. If you're using a deep dish pie plate, you'll need to increase the recipe. Also, if you're using Graham Cracker crumbs, then you'll need actual measurements. Therefore, for a deep dish pie crust, use 2 cups crumbs and 1/2 cup butter/margarine. And make sure you press down firmly all over the pie plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2008
I chose this recipe since it had no sugar. Perfect for the Key Lime Pie VII that I made. I used one sleeve of crackers (18 sq.), also measures to 1 1/2 C.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia Winterle Jaeger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sasebo, Nagasaki, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
Easy, and with much more flavor than store-bought crusts. A little thick for icebox pies, the crust gets hard to bite through when it's cold, but otherwise it's perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This recipe is wonderful - I was worried my crust wouldn't hold together, but it did. The only reason I'm docking 1 star is because to cover a pie plate, I do need at least 20 crackers. Also I find the cracker to butter ratio a little bit off, I had to add quite a bit more butter than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I made this in my food processor. I used Trader Joe's cinnamon grahams, and I wasn't sure on how many to use, because they are a much different texture than regular grahams. Anyway, I used way too many, I guess, because I had enough for one 9-inch pie crust and 4 mini pie crusts! Tasted great, and really firmed up in the oven. I was afraid it would be crumbly, but it wasn't. I needed a graham pie crust without trans fats, and this was a great recipe! (TJ's doesn't use trans fats in their graham crackers, and they're really yummy too.) I like how this recipe doesn't have extra sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2007
I used 16 whole graham crackers (meaning 16 sheets, 4 rectangles per sheet) graham crackers and 1/2 cup (1 stick) of butter. Make sure to finely crush them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
I used this recipe and found I needed to double the recipe to have enough of a crumb crust to fill the springform pan. I do love how easy it is do though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2007
Good recipe. Had to use crushed macaroons ( and a few misc cookies + Ritz crackers) since I didn't have graham crackers, and I think I added a bit more butter, but it turned out great. I shortened my baking time by 2 minutes, then when I baked my cheesecake, I made sure to cover the tops so it wouldn't burn (it was my first time and I didn't want anything to burn. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHTTRBUGIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2007
Didn't look very pretty. I'll mash the crackers better next time, maybe proccess them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
This recipe tasted okay, but the crust only covered the bottom of the pan when I used four whole graham crackers per another review. I'm still unsure if you should count each section or each cracker as "one," but I'll probably try this recipe again sometime and play around with the ingredients until it looks right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States