Graham Cracker Crust II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I'm glad I read the reviews before making this recipe. I have a deep dish pie plate so I used 14 sheets (2 cups give or take) of graham crackers and 1/2 cup of butter. It is very wet and crumbly but it holds together nicely. I am very grateful to the user who mentioned that 1 package of graham crackers (Honey Maid) = 1.5 cups graham cracker crumbs. I also loved the tip about putting the crackers in a zip lock bag and crushing them with a rolling pin then adding the melted butter and mixing it "in the bag". It is very effective and not too messy. I used a measuring cup to press in and pack the crust on the bottom and the sides but I had to finish with my fingers. I baked it in the oven at 350 for about 10 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Worked great for the Key Lime Pie I made - a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2012
Very easy recipe. I like that it did not make a thick crust as I don't really like graham cracker crust but my kids love it, a good compromise. We made chocolate pudding pie and the pudding was plenty sweet to compensate for no sugar in the crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Here is my opinion on 16 cracker "squares." There is only one way to get a square out of a graham cracker and that's with two little rectangles or half a sheet! That's what I did, and it was AWESOME!!! I was so happy with it and it was so simple!! I put the crackers in my food processor and turned them into crumbs and then added the butter. My only mistake was I got my second crust a little thick, so I cooked it a little longer and ended up too long. So, note to self, even if its still looks soft and squishy in the oven, when you pull it out to cool it will harden. Go by color, my 2nd was a little dark. My only complaint, I didn't feel one recipe was enough to cover bottom and sides of pie plate. So maybe 1.5 times the recipe. But it tasted AMAZING.. Thank you!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I'm a place that doesn't have graham crackers so I used plain digestive biscuits. I ended up using about half a large pack (about 10 biscuits). I also added a little bit more butter than the recipe called for. But I ended up with a GREAT crust! Not to sweet - the perfect compliment for my dessert. I found it wasn't necessary to cook the crust by itself however, because I had it pressed in tightly enough and it definitely cooked enough when I made it with the dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
Took my own interpretation of 16 graham crackers "squares", so since each cracker splits into 4's, I used 8 crackers (when you split it into 2, then it looked like a square). I was concerned about some reviews with it being crumbly, but it turned out great, stayed together, didn't bake it in advance, but instead baked it together with the cheesecake. Everyone loved it since it's got no sugar, so less sweet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
i have made this same crust. but instead of butter i had used cream cheese. it works realy well and tastes good. i don't realy even measure it. i just throw it all in a zip-lock bag and mix it up realy good then i put it in the pie pan. works amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I loved this crust. Since it's not sweet, it worked wonderfully for key lime pie. If you're going to use it for a baked pie, don't prebake this crust. I think all the confusion this recipe has created comes from not all graham crackers being the same size between brands. I used 16 Christie Honey Maid graham wafers which measure 2.25" each. with the 1/4 butter I had a crust that was thoroughly moist and held together well. There wasn't enough of it to go very high up the sides of the pan though, so if you want full sides to your crust, you'll probably have to make more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
This is a great recipe if you do not want the extra sweetness in the standard recipe. I use the boxed Honey Maid Cracker Crumbs (hey-anything to save time!) There is a tip on the box that says "dip bottom of pie plate in hot water for a few seconds before serving". This works great-makes removing the pieces lots easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
Time and aggravation saving tips ... exact measurements should be as follows: 2 cups of graham cracker CRUMBS 1/2 cup of butter (organic coconut oil is far healthier) 1 teaspoon of cinnamon (optional) If you're breaking up whole graham crackers, you can save yourself TONS of time by throwing them in a food processor with the optional cinnamon if you have one. Else, as another user mentioned, put them in a ziplock and mash them up with a kitchen hammer or just by hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arias Hung
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States