Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is my 1st ever review, so bear with me. I made this yesterday. I already had my little hand mixer out, so I used that on LOW, in a tall glass measuring cup, to mix and incorperate the butter. Worked like a charm. Crust was very easy to press into the pan without the usual "slick" sliding around of melted butter. Since I was in a dire emergency situation, (if I didn't get something cheesecakey in my mouth soon, my head was going to explode!) instead of the fridge, I put it in the freezer for about 30 min instead. Pie sliced cleanly and without any crumbling. I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was quick and easy to make. I was too lazy to measure crumbs, so simply followed another reviewer's suggestion to crush one sleeve of graham crackers. I crushed the crackers in a sealable plastic storage bag, added the sugar, then the butter and mushed it together. After shaping and chilling the crust for an hour, I filled it with this site's recipe for "Key Lime Pie VII". My guests could not stop talking about how wonderful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is how I usually make my graham cracker crust, though I do add a little less sugar---about 3 tablespoons. I do not like the box of already crushed crumbs but rather the more uneven type that you get when you use the rolling pin with the crackers in a baggie. If I'm using Honey Maid brand, I use a packet and sometimes even add just a few more crackers so I have a thicker crust. I do put it in a 350 degree oven for about five minutes to let the butter and crumbs come together. Love this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
One wax paper package makes enough for one pie. (There are three packages in a box of graham crackers.) This crust was quick and easy to make and it baked nicely. Will use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The use of softened instead of melted butter absolutely was a great call. I very much enjoyed the consistency of this crust; smooth and crumbly at the same time. It didn't have the overly greasy/buttery, too saturated crust that I got with pouring melted butter over crumbs. Using softened butter makes the butter spread more evenly among the crumbs. I got another tip on this site to place the graham crackers in a large ziploc bag and use a rolling pin to crush them, which yields smaller crumbs than doing it by hand. This makes for an even better texture. My brother specifically requested a sweet potato pie with graham cracker crust for Christmas and as he was eating this said "I could eat the crust all by itself!" Absolute winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I usually buy premade store bought crust. I was going to pick one up however, they were all broken. So I decided to try making it instead. I bought graham crackers (16 crackers, 2.5" squares = 1.5 cups) and pulverized it in a blender then mixed in the other ingredients. Used a measuring cup bottom to press down the crumbs. I only refrigerate for 30 minutes and used the key lime VII recipe. After refrigerating overnight, the crust was firm and didn't crumble as bad as the store bought ones and tastes fresher and way better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
A simple recipe for one of the simplest pie crusts. Made my own crumbs with mostly graham crackers and a handful of shortbread cookies we had on hand. Refrigerated overnight before filling with key lime pie ingredients - which cooked for 30 minutes at 375 and made the crust even more delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
I found this had way too much sugar. I don't even think I would want to use this much sugar in a cheesecake recipe. But I like the simplicity of the recipe. I did notice on the graham crackers box that there was a crust recipe which just added butter. I feel compelled to try that one instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was very tasty, and easy, especially since I mixed it all up in the same ziplock I crushed the crackers in. The only problem I had with it was in the baking of my cheesecake, it kinda went all hard and rubbery...I'm not sure what happened, but otherwise I'm sure it'd be find for something you didn't need to bake. Also next time I'll probably increase the crackers and butter just a bit, I couldn't quite get it all the way up the sides of the pan without leaving holes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Tastes great! I softened the butter in the microwave for about 10 seconds and mixed it into the graham cracker crumbs and sugar with a pastry cutter. Very easy. I also put the crackers in a large ziploc bag and crushed with a rolling pin - easy and no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Old-Fashioned Cracker Stuffing

See how to make an old-fashioned dressing or stuffing with saltine crackers.

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States