Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is my 1st ever review, so bear with me. I made this yesterday. I already had my little hand mixer out, so I used that on LOW, in a tall glass measuring cup, to mix and incorperate the butter. Worked like a charm. Crust was very easy to press into the pan without the usual "slick" sliding around of melted butter. Since I was in a dire emergency situation, (if I didn't get something cheesecakey in my mouth soon, my head was going to explode!) instead of the fridge, I put it in the freezer for about 30 min instead. Pie sliced cleanly and without any crumbling. I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
this recipe is amazing for pies! But i still prefer melted butter, i even add a little bit more the taste compliments the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is how I usually make my graham cracker crust, though I do add a little less sugar---about 3 tablespoons. I do not like the box of already crushed crumbs but rather the more uneven type that you get when you use the rolling pin with the crackers in a baggie. If I'm using Honey Maid brand, I use a packet and sometimes even add just a few more crackers so I have a thicker crust. I do put it in a 350 degree oven for about five minutes to let the butter and crumbs come together. Love this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The use of softened instead of melted butter absolutely was a great call. I very much enjoyed the consistency of this crust; smooth and crumbly at the same time. It didn't have the overly greasy/buttery, too saturated crust that I got with pouring melted butter over crumbs. Using softened butter makes the butter spread more evenly among the crumbs. I got another tip on this site to place the graham crackers in a large ziploc bag and use a rolling pin to crush them, which yields smaller crumbs than doing it by hand. This makes for an even better texture. My brother specifically requested a sweet potato pie with graham cracker crust for Christmas and as he was eating this said "I could eat the crust all by itself!" Absolute winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great recipe! I found that a more gentle tapping with either spoon or hand works much better than pushing hard, to shape the crust in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
The taste and texture of this was wonderful! I had a little trouble getting the pie out of the pan, so I might butter the pan next time. (I have a glass pan, so it might not be a problem if you have a non-stick pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Tastes great! I softened the butter in the microwave for about 10 seconds and mixed it into the graham cracker crumbs and sugar with a pastry cutter. Very easy. I also put the crackers in a large ziploc bag and crushed with a rolling pin - easy and no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
This was very tasty, and easy, especially since I mixed it all up in the same ziplock I crushed the crackers in. The only problem I had with it was in the baking of my cheesecake, it kinda went all hard and rubbery...I'm not sure what happened, but otherwise I'm sure it'd be find for something you didn't need to bake. Also next time I'll probably increase the crackers and butter just a bit, I couldn't quite get it all the way up the sides of the pan without leaving holes in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohwerd87

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
This was quick and easy to make. I was too lazy to measure crumbs, so simply followed another reviewer's suggestion to crush one sleeve of graham crackers. I crushed the crackers in a sealable plastic storage bag, added the sugar, then the butter and mushed it together. After shaping and chilling the crust for an hour, I filled it with this site's recipe for "Key Lime Pie VII". My guests could not stop talking about how wonderful it was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States