Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
This is my 1st ever review, so bear with me. I made this yesterday. I already had my little hand mixer out, so I used that on LOW, in a tall glass measuring cup, to mix and incorperate the butter. Worked like a charm. Crust was very easy to press into the pan without the usual "slick" sliding around of melted butter. Since I was in a dire emergency situation, (if I didn't get something cheesecakey in my mouth soon, my head was going to explode!) instead of the fridge, I put it in the freezer for about 30 min instead. Pie sliced cleanly and without any crumbling. I'll use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
The use of softened instead of melted butter absolutely was a great call. I very much enjoyed the consistency of this crust; smooth and crumbly at the same time. It didn't have the overly greasy/buttery, too saturated crust that I got with pouring melted butter over crumbs. Using softened butter makes the butter spread more evenly among the crumbs. I got another tip on this site to place the graham crackers in a large ziploc bag and use a rolling pin to crush them, which yields smaller crumbs than doing it by hand. This makes for an even better texture. My brother specifically requested a sweet potato pie with graham cracker crust for Christmas and as he was eating this said "I could eat the crust all by itself!" Absolute winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
this recipe is amazing for pies! But i still prefer melted butter, i even add a little bit more the taste compliments the filling
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkman

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is how I usually make my graham cracker crust, though I do add a little less sugar---about 3 tablespoons. I do not like the box of already crushed crumbs but rather the more uneven type that you get when you use the rolling pin with the crackers in a baggie. If I'm using Honey Maid brand, I use a packet and sometimes even add just a few more crackers so I have a thicker crust. I do put it in a 350 degree oven for about five minutes to let the butter and crumbs come together. Love this crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2013
Great recipe! I found that a more gentle tapping with either spoon or hand works much better than pushing hard, to shape the crust in the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
The taste and texture of this was wonderful! I had a little trouble getting the pie out of the pan, so I might butter the pan next time. (I have a glass pan, so it might not be a problem if you have a non-stick pan.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ukiah, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
Tastes great! I softened the butter in the microwave for about 10 seconds and mixed it into the graham cracker crumbs and sugar with a pastry cutter. Very easy. I also put the crackers in a large ziploc bag and crushed with a rolling pin - easy and no mess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
This is a fast easy recipe that I love!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2013
A simple recipe for one of the simplest pie crusts. Made my own crumbs with mostly graham crackers and a handful of shortbread cookies we had on hand. Refrigerated overnight before filling with key lime pie ingredients - which cooked for 30 minutes at 375 and made the crust even more delicious. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grampnana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I usually buy premade store bought crust. I was going to pick one up however, they were all broken. So I decided to try making it instead. I bought graham crackers (16 crackers, 2.5" squares = 1.5 cups) and pulverized it in a blender then mixed in the other ingredients. Used a measuring cup bottom to press down the crumbs. I only refrigerate for 30 minutes and used the key lime VII recipe. After refrigerating overnight, the crust was firm and didn't crumble as bad as the store bought ones and tastes fresher and way better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Easy Pie Crust

This crust is so easy, you don’t even need a mixing bowl!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States